Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1960 33' Custom
Athens , Georgia
Toyota & Vintage Airstream combo

I have just bought a gutted '61 Overlander that is 1800 miles away. (very excited) I have arranged a tow service to take her to the experts for new torsion axles, disc brakes, wheels, tires and any other tow safety issues that crop up on inspection. I plan to drive down in a few weeks and bring her home; however as a trailer novice I could do with some advice.

My T.V. is an '07 Tundra 5.7L 4x4 dbl cab std box with offroad package. I have a tonneau cover and tool tray built in that adds 300 lbs already. I think the payload is 1430lbs so I probaly have room there and the tow rating is something like 10,300 lbs or so.

I'm guessing that the sight unseen '61 Overlander 26' twin axle with just 1 cabinet left in situ must way about 3000lbs or less? I'd like to get home safely and from then trailer will most likely not be moved much for the duration of the remodelling, so 18 months.

Q1- So far I'm looking at a Reese straight line package but am unsure about the WD dist. bar weight I should ask for given the trailers current state 3000lbs and future state still <4000lbs dry?

Q2- My Toyota is pretty wide but doesn't have the tow package and hence no tow mirrors. With a skinny trailer and wide truck will I need them and if so are there any that don't look ridiculous?

Q3- Will the lack of water in tanks and stuff make it harder to keep stable?
Old 03-01-2008, 07:03 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas