Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-23-2014, 11:42 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2020 25' Flying Cloud
Atlanta , Georgia
Towing with a Toyota Tacoma

I'm new to this whole Airstream thing--we're just looking at trailers now--and I'm trying to figure out what my truck will safely and comfortably tow. Can I get a little advice?

My tow vehicle is a 2008 Toyota Tacoma, 6 cyl, 2 wd, with the towing package. GVWR for that vehicle is 5500, more or less. The trailers we're considering are:

20 Flying Cloud: (GVWR 5000, Base weight 4271)
22 Sport (GVWR 4500, Base weight 3634)
23 Flying Cloud FB (GVWR 6000, Base weight 4761)

I know for the 22 Sport, I've got 1000 lbs of "extra" GVWR, but is that sufficient to two comfortably on the steep grades in the Appalachians? For the 20 FC, I've got 500 lbs "extra" GVWR, but am I cutting it too close? For the 23 Flying Cloud, my truck is under the GVWR by 500 lbs, but is that significant?

A new truck is not (my wife tells me) an option.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
Belbein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Broadway , North Carolina
The GVWR of your truck is not going to help you much as it indicates how much weight you can put in it, not how much it will tow. GVWR does factor into the tongue weight of the Airstream you chose, but not towing capacity.

You should look at the towing capacity of your truck and compare it to those Base Weight numbers (the weight of the trailer) plus a few hundred pounds for stuff in it.