Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-09-2008, 09:27 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 26' Overlander
Encinitas , California
Towing speeds...

Being new to towing our 1965 26" Overlander (although I drive Fire Engines for a living and am familiar with heavy loads & stoppping distances), what are "safe" speeds to tow? Is it the axle bearings, the tire ratings, the load, what gives? I mean 55 mph (California) is so damn slow... Any tips, hints, suggestions and/or ideas would be great...
Thanks for your help fellow 'forum'ers!
HansenClan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Hernando , Mississippi
Just my humble opinion... I do not use interstates unless I HAVE to to cross a river,m etc. We take the back roads at 55mph +/_ , save gas, and enjoy the countryside. That is one of the reasons we bought the airstream. Even more important now with the price of petrol. Slow down, enjoy the world and see something besides miles of asphalt/concrete.

Fully retired now!
Remember:
Never start anything before noon and always plan on being finished by 5.
I will never HAVE to be anywhere ever again!
ScottW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:57 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2003 22' International CCD
Whittier , California
One of the "safe" speeds for travel trailers in Ca is 62 mph. It's at the upper limit of the tolerance band for all vehicles who have a posted limit of 55 and beyond which you will likely receive a speeding ticket if observed.