Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-15-2012, 12:10 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Manson , Washington
Towing question for newbie

I'm in the process of buying a '68 Sovereign AS. I will be towing or at least I'm hoping to tow with my Tacoma. The specs are below.

Will this work? Safety concerns? I'm completely new to this. I'm buying it to live in while going to school.

Is there anything I should modify on the AS or Tacoma?

How important are breaks on a trailer? Since these trailers don't have them, will the breaks on my Tacoma be enough? I will drive over two mountain passes here in Washington State twice a year. The rest of the year it will be my living quarters.

Thank you in advance!

Tacoma: 4.0L V-6
Towing capacity: 6,500
Tongue weight: 650 lbs.
With towing package.

31 Ft. Sovereign Twin
(International Land Yacht)
Hitch Wt. 520 lbs.
Total Wt. 4995 lbs.
jcdevivero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 12:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Jcdevivero,

Could you please provide more information on your pickup and Airstream. For example:

* What year is your Tacoma?
* Does it have the towing package (HD radiator, transmission oil cooler, hitch, umbilical connector, brake controller, etc.)?
* Are you sure the Airstream doesn't have electric brakes?

While this towing combination might be feasible, my gut feeling is that you need a larger tow vehicle. Just a preliminary opinion with a lot of missing data, but I would hesitate to tow a 30 foot trailer over mountain passes with a V6 and no trailer brakes. You might be OK going uphill, but I'd be afraid of the long downgrades.