Old 02-14-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Floral Park , New York
Towing Capacity for a Honda

I own a 2009 Honda Pilot (Rated 4500). I'm looking at the Flying Cloud 19' and 20'. I like the 20 alot more than the 19 but the 20 exceeds my GVWR by 500 lbs. Is this a big deal?

Old 02-14-2010, 12:15 PM   #2

1968 22' Safari
Woodland , California
I am new to Airstreaming myself, although I have towed a boat and utility trailers for many years.

NEVER exceed your vehicles GVWR rating unless you want to replace your vehicle sooner rather than later.

From what I have read, especially here on the forums, is that you really don't want to exceed 80% of your GVWR.

Old 02-14-2010, 12:16 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1977 25' Tradewind
Waskesiu Lake , Saskatchewan
Yep, it's a pretty big deal.

1. Honda says vehicle can't handle it. Towing this will pretty much void your warranty.
2. Crash your rig, and you will be subject to liability issues for exceeding capacity.
3. Most importantly, crash your rig and you and/or others might end up hurt or worse...

1977 25' Tradewind (with two ... three... FOUR dogs)
2011 Ram 1500 Quad cab, 5.7 Hemi, tow pkg.
kevin242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 01:21 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
St. Catharines , South Western Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gumpdad714 View Post
I own a 2009 Honda Pilot (Rated 4500). I'm looking at the Flying Cloud 19' and 20'. I like the 20 alot more than the 19 but the 20 exceeds my GVWR by 500 lbs. Is this a big deal?
Are you saying the Airstream will weigh 5,000lbs or are you saying you will exceed the payload rating for your Pilot by 500lbs????
Old 02-14-2010, 01:58 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1975 29' Ambassador
Reno , Nevada
GeeWhiz, Do the mythmongerers really come out in force on questions like this!