Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-25-2015, 09:20 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Naperville , Illinois
Towing and Hauling

I'm new to this and am looking for some advice. I want to do full time or 3/4 time in my (near future) Airstream. So, I decided on a 30ft. I'm looking for tow vehicles and my dilemma is I still have to drive a fair amount of miles every year for work and I pay for my own fuel. I've heard the F150 could handle that, but there is a catch. I want to be able to bring my Harley with me too. So, does that wipe out using the F150 and have to go with a F250? Now, I wont always have the bike in there. Thanks for your help!
Silverfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 09:40 AM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Howdy!
I think you may be close on the tow / haul limit on the F150. You "may" be able to do it, but hardware does have design limits and working "near/over" design does have drawbacks.

Will you be on flatland or mountain terrain when towing?
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 09:40 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 28' Flying Cloud
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania