Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-07-2011, 10:52 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Towing a 19' Bambi

Good morning everyone,
I am a new member and hope to purchase a used 19" Bambi, looking at my vehicle specs, I should be able to tow it with my 2007 Toyota FJ. ( I hope) Does anyone have experience with an FJ?. I have a 6 speed manual,4x4.
Would alternate coolers help?...(Transmission, Radiator,oil cooler?). Also my FJ has the factory mounted type III hitch will this suffice?..If anyone can help it would be so appreciated...as I am a newbie to Airstreaming!...But love those Airstreams since I was a kid....(some time ago) lol.
Thank you for any help
Harborworkz@yahoo.com
petree6618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Welcome to the foroums! The year of the 19' Bambi you are considering would be important because newer Airstreams are heavier than the older ones. We tow our 2007 19' with an 07 Tacoma 6Cyl Double Cab 2WD TRD with a factory tow package and do fine, I am not familiar with the towing spec's for the FJ. The dry wight of our Bambi is 3500 lbs and the full weight is 4500 lbs. Our Tacoma is rated for 6500 lbs.
AirForums #21900
PastPrez, 4CU/WBCCI
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 03:17 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1959 17' Pacer
Long Beach , California
Petree,

First off, I think the FJ is a great vehicle, and I'm not at all biased because I have one...