Old 12-04-2014, 11:15 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Pickup bed covers.

Hi, I studied, long and hard, before buying my new truck, and now I have to study bed covers. I want a metal, roll up cover that can be locked in many positions. Reason for this is that I want to mount and run my generator in the bed of the truck while towing so the bed cover would be partially open at times. So far, I'm leaning towards a Retrax Pro. For my truck it would be model number 40371. [about $1700.00]

Any thoughts or experience on this or similar bed covers?

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 11:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Personally, given a big budget, I prefer a cab-height camper shell with a slider tray installed in the bed. Sadly, no budget, so I run what I have

That aside, I have a 2002 pickup truck with a roll-up cover that is heavy rubber over aluminum slats that run in the rails. I forget the precise brand name (probably Pace-Edwards??), but what I like about it is that once unlocked and un- latched, the cover slides sorta freely into the box that holds the roll-up part. There is a long nylon strap connected to the center of the last slat that you yank on to close it. Once you yank on the strap, the latching mechanism engages and allows the cover to stay open at about one foot increments, which is convenient for tall objects standing in the back of the truck.