Old 03-07-2008, 08:12 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Somewhereinthewoodsof , Maine
Opinions on a 1969 chevy panel?

Just wondering... I'm new to this and I like the looks of this.

running unique Chevy project panel truck

From what I've read, it'd be too small for anything over 20', underpowered, and even still, might not handle 20' well enough.

I'm guaging interest that people have in this idea. Would such a beast be good enough? Or would it require a ton of upgrades to make it worthy of hauling a 20' trailer reliably?

I welcome your opinions. I think I'm decided that when I get a vintage AS, I'll get a vintage panel van/panel truck of some sort as a TV.

thanks

(p.s. does it help that it's a movie star truck?)

Old 03-07-2008, 09:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind
West Coast , BC
Send a message via MSN to safari57
IMHO the truck is not going to meet your needs. It is underpowered, doesn't have power brakes (or front disc brakes which would be even better). These trucks were "rusters" in the rocker panels, bottom of the front fenders, and other places but those are the two primary ones I'm aware of. It's a pretty bare bones unit - there's one I just put on the Interesting Craig's List Finds thread that's in the Seattle area - a long ways away - but have a look at it for comparison appearance and pricing.

This suburban would be fairly noisy inside, seats were not as comfortable then as they are now so you'd be changing that out and by the time you start to redo all the things on this one you'd be into it for some serious bucks.

I'm an obvious fan of using vintage TV's but my recommendation is to buy the best one you can find with the most options. Have it certified by a licensed mechanic for safety and run it past a body shop for their appraisal on the body and ask what a paint job would cost. With those things in hand you'll have a good idea of what it is likely going to cost you.