Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-09-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2012 27' FB International
Athens , Illinois
New Airstreamer! Tow vehicle?

Newbie here! Just bought a 2012 27' FB International. I have a 2005 H2 SUT as my tow vehicle now, but I'd like to upgrade to something stronger, and I've been looking at 2011-2012 Ford F-150's and F-250's. My main question is: do I need a 250? Is it necessary?
Jordanparson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:10 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
The right engine/transmission/rearend/tow package in a 150 will do it - but then again you will never match the tow performance of a F250 diesel with any F150 combination.
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
Your choice of which TV to buy will depend on how and where you intend to use the trailer. Welcome on board to your life of adventure with your new purchase. You live in a pretty flat Illinois. So do I. You are not going to really need the 250 in Illinois, but the 250 might come in handy if you spend a lot of times in the mountains. If you go for the 150, maybe you consider spending a little more for a better pivot point transferring hitch.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:29 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado