Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-30-2013, 09:54 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1978 Argosy 30
Austin , Texas
Im looking to tow a 30' Argosy....

It can be found here in this classified...
1978 Airstream Argosy 30’ for sale in Bella Vista, Arkansas

My tow vehicle is a 2013 Chevy Avalanche with the towing package that can handle 8100 lbs. The dry weight of the trailer is in the neighborhood of 4000 lbs. I dont have a weight distributing hitch but Im considering upgrading to one at some point. Im thinking that my truck should be able to handle the trailer. Does anyone here have any concerns regarding the set up?? I'm new to this so any advice here would be appreciated!
Clopticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 10:26 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Welcome to the forums.
The phrase you are looking for with your towing capacity is "when properly equipped".
Simply dropping the trailer on the ball and driving is not properly equipped. You need a brake controller, WD, and sway control. No ifs, ands or buts.
Old 12-30-2013, 10:42 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
1995 21' Sovereign
Hollister , California
It looks like the trailer has a WD set up on it in the pictures, did you ask the seller if he is including one? They are really cheap insurance for sure!

Brake controller, your truck should be very simple to instal one. Most controllers today are simple plug and play. No leveling required. A good retailer like etrailer.com can set you up with a controller and wire harness to plug right into your Avalanche, no wire splicing needed!
Cyberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:10 AM   #4
Retired.