Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2009, 08:13 AM   #1

2008 27' Safari FB SE
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Blue Springs , Missouri
How to load my Harley onto bed of Pickup

I am new at this and don't know if I have the right forum for this. I am looking for suggestions on the safest and most cost effective way to load my Harley Street Glide touring bike on the eight foot bed of my F350 pickup. Are there any recommendations and/or suggestions?
SterShreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:23 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
The trailer would have to be unhitched, I don't think any lifting device made could lift a Harley over the side of the bed, and lower it to the ground. The most cost-effective way would probably be a 4x8 sheet of 3/4" plywood with a couple of 2x4s screwed to the bottom of it for additional support. Most motorcycle ramps will only hold 400-600 pounds, and many (most?) Harleys will go over that.
Old 07-09-2009, 08:37 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Elkhart , Indiana
Send a message via AIM to memgrove2000
Worlds largest selection of motorcycle ramps
check these out.
memgrove2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:42 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1995 25' Excella
waynesboro , Virginia
When I take my bike, before hitching the trailer up, I find a loading dock, at a local motorcycle shop or even at a local tractor dealer...load the bike.....then hook up....
waltero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:44 AM   #5
Rivet Master

1960 33' Custom
Athens , Georgia