Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2008, 11:37 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Toronto , Ontario
F-150 FX4 towing 2008 25'FB International -- Am I OK?

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the Airforums.com, so first off, just want to say HI!

Now on to my Question: I am going to be buying an Airstream next summer. The one I really have my mind set on is the 2008 25'FB international series. My current Tow vehicle will be a 2006 Ford F150 FX4. That truck has the 5.4L Triton engine, 4X4 package with factory tow upgrade package. I need to varify for the exact wheel base length, but I have the super cab (not super crew) with the 6.5' bed. I have to double check, but I believe the Max. Tow rating is 9200 lbs. for my configuration. Will this vehicle be sufficient to tow the 5410 lb (empty weight) trailer without running into any problems/uncormfortable driving conditions? Are there any truck upgrades or tips I could consider in order to make the towing experience more comfortable?

To elaborate a bit more on my outings, I will likely be taking this rig mostly to the Eastern parts of Canada and the US in the summers including areas such as Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and into the eastern states such as ME, VT, and NH which I know can be somewhat mountainous. I will also probably be taking it to FL for the winters and may be passing through the Blue Ridge mountains in PA on my route down from Toronto to Miami where I also anticipate some fairly impressive grades. My cargo will be maximum 2 adults + a large breed dog (115 lbs) as well as modestly packed clothing, food, small yardworks 950W generator (35lbs) and another couple hundred pounds of misc. stuff that I can't think of but would like to allow for. I also would Ideally like to be able to travel with the tanks loaded up (Both LP and H2O) since my trips will normally be longer in nature.