Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2010, 07:03 AM   #1
Bex
4 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Eckville, Lacombe County , Alberta
Send a message via Skype™ to Bex
Effective changes that can be made, if any?

To my GMC 2500 van.
Its a 1993 G2500, tagged as a 3/4 ton but it has half ton axles.
Its got the 5.7lt engine and 3:42-1 rear end.
I pulled our 28ft Argosy home for a 9 hr journey over mostly rolling hills and it was "OK"
I am a very steady driver and 100kmph is fine with me, just enjoying the scenery as I go, In fact this was my first time ever pulling anything and it was an easy, stress free experience. But the hills did take their toll on my speed.

Now, before I change vehicles are there any significant (or minor) changes that I can make to the van to enhance the performance?
I am currently searching for a 3:73-ratio rear, but that's about all.
I installed a transmission cooler on it as well.
Is there much more I CAN do?
Advice, as always, greatly appreciated.
By the way, the GMC has only about 280k KM on it, so by no means "over the hill" yet.

Cheers!

Bex

A wise man once told me he wanted to stay fit enough to run a marathon on his hundredth birthday. Another said he wanted to be shot by a jealous husband on his, I'm with the latter. God bless you Richard.

Carpet Cleaning is what I do, it's not who I am.
Bex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:26 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
The rear is a first.

The trans cooler. Did you install it before or after the radiator. It should be After.

Considering the age of the truck I would pull the radiator and have it roded and cleaned. Canada is OK with the 3 core radiator put a 4 core would be nice if you are headed south.