Old 03-16-2009, 10:04 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
Currently Looking...
weehawken , New Jersey
Eco-Responsibility: Veggie Diesel? Better gas mileage TV?

Hi-- I am a complete newbie. I am in the process of figuring out whether I can chuck it all for awhile and live on the road.

One of the things that I am having a problem with is the total crumminess of gas mileage on TV's. This isn't working with my current attempts to live more responsibly.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I have found a guy in Portland (across the country) who does veggie diesel conversions on Ford 7.3L powerstroke-- I think he'll do pretty much any diesel conversion but he suggests the Ford. These conversions can run on vegetable oil (new or used), biodiesel, or straight diesel.

Has anyone pulled a trailer with a Veggie Diesel TV?

I also am a single women traveling alone with no towing experience as of yet so I need something simple and dependable and I have to say that those Ford 2009 F150's look mighty attractive with all of the extras that they have added on for towing capability. (And a high price tag).

I have also thought that if I had to get a gas guzzler that I could offset with solar or wind power but by how much?

Any thoughts?

jolttx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 10:50 AM   #2
1996 34' Classic
1996 34' Excella
Locust Grove , Virginia
Just the other day, on Myth Busters, the two guys did a test of a diesel Mercedes Sedan running through a specific amount of standard dielsel fuel and then running the car on the exact same amount of vegetable oil. They said it wouldn't matter if it was new or used veggie oil.
The results were that the car went from approx 36 mpg to 30 mpg with the veggie oil.
I offer this only as conincidental info. Can't say if a PowerStroke would actually work.

2005 F-150 5.4L Supercab 4X4 (Betsy 3)
2008 Safari 27FB SE (Arvin as in RV'ing)
2010 TREK 2.3

Fair is where they put ribbons on pigs.
FordTruck is offline   Reply With Quote