Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
AIR-Quarius's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,752
Images: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
Does Tekonsha Brake control...?

So far we have made it to the point of installing the Tekonsha Brake control device. Have used it once on a short trip of about four miles...it did good.
My question is for those of you who already have - and have used this brake controller. Even though it comes with instructions, I would rather hear it from the horses mouth.
For each time you hook up and connect to make a trip, does this brand brake box have to be set? Or is it automatic? Tell me how you work it yourself if you have one please.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0333.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	211.2 KB
ID:	155293  
__________________

__________________
http://customrvdecalplus.com
AIR-Quarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 04:58 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,421
Blog Entries: 2
I do not check my controler each time. As long as the brakes feel <normal> I leave well enough alone. This might be bad advice so I hope someone else chimes in. jim
__________________

__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
FreshAir's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
Placerville , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,327
Images: 2
No, not for me. I installed a wiring harness is both the Buick, which I tow with, and in my truck which I use to manuever the Airstream around our property. I have only the one Prodoigy controller which I move between the vehicles. The controller is pretty tolerant but I when had it at first the front to back angle was too much of an angle....it would fail when I went UP our driveway and recovered when I traveled DOWN it. It's about an 8* angle steep. I like mine. I've had it 2-3 years.
Neil
__________________
Neil and Lynn Holman
FreshAir #12407

Avatar;
Kirk Creek, Big Sur, Ca. coast.

1966 Trade Wind

1971 Buick Centurion convertible
455 cid

1969 Oldsmobile Ninety Eight
455 cid
FreshAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
Tim J's Avatar
 
1984 31' Sovereign
anycity , New Hampshire
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Best one I've had. Prodigy can be set and forgotten. I have a 31' Soveign and a 20' flatbed. Depending on the load or roads I change the settings, but you dont need to if you use it with one trailer
__________________
Tim J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Rivet Idiot
 
AirHeadsRus's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
On The Lake , Georgia
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 899
I have had mine on three different trucks and never had to set it up. I just make sure the brakes are working manually. Then go.
__________________
AirHeadsRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:39 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
Yup, install and go. I always test the manual control before each journey but other than that there's not much to do.
__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:43 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2006 22' International CCD
2007 Base Camp
Elk Valley , British Columbia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 657
The P2 is auto-levelling. As far as the voltage or boost, it's always proper to test the trailer brakes every time you hook up. You won't likely have to change anything much, but eventually brakes wear or maybe your load is a bit heavier one time.

The P3 is a nice upgrade when the time comes. My first trip of the year I had to dial it down a couple points because the roads had a lot of loose gravel from over winter and I found the brakes too grabby...
__________________
Friday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:52 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friday View Post

The P3 is a nice upgrade when the time comes. My first trip of the year I had to dial it down a couple points because the roads had a lot of loose gravel from over winter and I found the brakes too grabby...
Mine is the P3 and I went through a period when it and the trailer was new where the brakes were really grabby. I slacked off the gain a little, although not much, and after some use everything turned pretty smooth.
__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:42 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
AIR-Quarius's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,752
Images: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
Good, this is the feed back I want to read about. When I first tried it- it said to set it at 6.0 (right in the middle I figure) and then go from there.
There was a DVD which came with it but my lap top would not play it .(very small weird looking DVD). The instructions were a little busy too.
But one of the instructions was to set it to the point to where the brakes locked up. well - how can you tell your brakes are locked up while in motion? - and wouldn't this possibly yank the gut's of the tow package or truck out?
__________________
http://customrvdecalplus.com
AIR-Quarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
My towing man, who knows about these things, says to have the gain up as high as you can get away with - presumably not with the locked wheels, though!
__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:01 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
AIR-Quarius's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,752
Images: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
well, on the right side of this 'prodigy 2' there is a boost button. with I think are three custom settings for the size of trailer you are pulling. so I set mine at the third level. The levels are b. b.1 b.2 b.3 so I am set at b.3 because I figure the trailer weighs 40% more than the TV.
There are some scales down the road from us, and if I hook up and go there, what is the procedure of weighing in?
__________________
http://customrvdecalplus.com
AIR-Quarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:18 PM   #12
Moderator
 
Kevin245's Avatar

 
Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9,385
Images: 9
Ours is "Set and Forget". One thing worth mentioning though. When the trailer sits for an extended period (few days or more) the drums have a tendency to flash rust which makes them grabby the first few brake applications. To avoid fiddling with the Prodigy settings I manually apply the trailer brakes a couple of times to lightly scrub the drums while we ease out to the street.
__________________

"You wouldn't worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do."

Eleanor Roosevelt

Kevin245 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 11:56 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
2006 22' International CCD
2007 Base Camp
Elk Valley , British Columbia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by AIR-Quarius View Post
Good, this is the feed back I want to read about. When I first tried it- it said to set it at 6.0 (right in the middle I figure) and then go from there.
There was a DVD which came with it but my lap top would not play it .(very small weird looking DVD). The instructions were a little busy too.
But one of the instructions was to set it to the point to where the brakes locked up. well - how can you tell your brakes are locked up while in motion? - and wouldn't this possibly yank the gut's of the tow package or truck out?
What you are trying to get is the maximum braking on the trailer when you are at maximum braking on the tow vehicle. When you crank/slide the manual lever all the way, it is going to output the maximum voltage you've got programmed (if you can program it). Ideally you want this to be just short of lock-up... but how do you know when that point it? You don't. So, aim for the wheels to just lock up when you get max output... for the surface you are going to be on. For example, if you are going to be on gravel, your brakes are going to lock way sooner.

By yourself it's not impossible... roll down the window and you'll hear the screeching if you're on pavement. Don't drag them for too far though. You're only going a few miles per hour when you do this, so you won't wreck anything. If your trailer is really big, you might not get your truck to move it with the manual brake applied.

I usually go about 5-8 mph, let off the gas on my truck, then apply the trailer brake smoothly, but quickly (within 2-3 seconds to full). I want to feel my truck slow a bit, and by the time it gets to the end, I want to feel a pretty good tug and a little 'chirp' at the end is perfect.

You won't hurt anything on your rig doing this at low speed.
__________________
Friday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:53 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,266
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AIR-Quarius View Post
So far we have made it to the point of installing the Tekonsha Brake control device. Have used it once on a short trip of about four miles...it did good.
My question is for those of you who already have - and have used this brake controller. Even though it comes with instructions, I would rather hear it from the horses mouth.
For each time you hook up and connect to make a trip, does this brand brake box have to be set? Or is it automatic? Tell me how you work it yourself if you have one please.
Hi, my brake controller is now mounted in my center consul, but before I moved it there it was mounted in a dash board pocket. I see your vehicle has a similar pocket in the dash. By installing it in the dash pocket, it will be easier to reach, see, and adjust. And the biggy for me was that having it mounted in the dash pocket, you won't get your knees ripped of by your brake controller when you get in and out of your tow vehicle.
__________________

__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecLink Brake controller... Mexray Brakes & Brake Controllers 123 01-03-2016 09:58 AM
Dexter brake shoes....a problem. ROBERT CROSS Brakes & Brake Controllers 34 07-04-2012 11:51 AM
Brake activation blows fuse davestewart2 Brakes & Brake Controllers 22 05-22-2012 03:07 PM
Does anyone know where to get Parbond in Canada? TPickerl Leaks - Weatherstrips, Gaskets, Caulks & Sealants 8 04-09-2012 11:17 AM
How important is the electric brake control vanster Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches 18 04-06-2012 01:57 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.