Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2016, 02:30 AM   #61
Full time Airstreamer

2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Anywhere , USA Living.Somewhere.Yonder
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasams View Post
Newbie here with a question about engine braking. Since the trailer brakes aren't activated, isn't the hitch in compression instead of tension? How might this affect handling?
On dry roads you should be fine. Just watch curves and especially wet or slick roads. You'll want to use your brakes for those so the tires don't lose traction. Even if the road is straight.
Old 09-23-2016, 03:15 AM   #62
Rivet Master

2018 27' International
Southeastern MI , Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by avionstream View Post
As far as big trucks being hard to park, I also had a Mitsubishi Eclypse for years. Couldn't get that thing in a parking space straight any better than the one ton. Sold the mits, kept the truck. If you can't park, you can't park. I need lots of space.
My 3/4 ton and half ton had the same body style. Neither was any more or less difficult to park than the other. Trick I learned was to always back in. I got real good at backing up; wouldn't let my kids drive until they could demonstrate backing up with mirrors only. (Also required them to demonstrate that they could merge at freeway speed without making anyone move over).

Tow Vehicle: 2020 F-350 6.7L Diesel
Countryboy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 08:27 AM   #63
Rivet Master

1994 30' Excella
alexandria , Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejritz View Post
My 2500 5.9 Cummins is five speed manual. I heard various recommendations regarding the use of an exhaust brake for travel in the mountains. What has been the experience of people on this forum? Is it worth retrofitting an exhaust brake onto an older vehicle with a manual, or is this only a benefit when using automatics?