Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-04-2008, 10:00 PM   #1
Backpacker to Airstreamer

2008 16' International CCD
Calgary , Alberta
Send a message via AIM to toaster ab
Question Chrysler Aspen Hybrid to tow 16ft int'l

Hi Airstreamers,

I am new to the RV world and I see that there are many here that have quite a bit of experience and may be able to help.

I own a 16ft Int'l dry weight 2850lbs. It's a small one and I travel lightly, myself and 2 dogs. I need a better tow vehicle but I don't really want to get into a full truck or large SUV's. Now that I have started researching options I see the larger wheel bases are safer so I am now thinking of hybrid options.

I have strongly considered the Toyota Highlaner Hybrid and have read a variety of reviews on this vehcile. As I travel through mountainous terrain and the price tag on that vehcile i feel I really should have more towing capacity to be safe even though I have read that some have stated it does tow fine on that vehicle. It has a rating of 3500lbs.

I am leaning towards the Aspen Hybrid as it is slightly smaller then some of the full size SUV's and has a tow capacity of 4500lbs. Does anyone have any experience with this hybrid model or any other hybrids?

I have read that the Hybrids are not great for towing but I am not sure if some of the info is dated and I am towing a relatively light trailer, currently with a small mini van.

My other consideration is a small used truck for towing and hybrid compact car for commuting. If the hybrid's can't pull I think I can still purchase this combo in the same price range which does provide some environmental compromise?