Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2010, 06:27 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 21' Globetrotter
Austin , Texas
best 10-20 year old truck for towing 21' globetrotter?

I'm new to the AS world but love the information I get from this forum! I need some serious advice here.

Getting married in less than a month to a sweet woman and we bought a 21 foot 72' globetrotter for the month-long honeymoon in the Northeast in July (we'll see how sweet we find each other after a month in our little home away from home!). Will be driving from Texas to RI in the summer heat.

After study, I am convinced our current TV is inadequate and will be worn out after this trip (as will I if I have to drive the 1900 miles in it each way).

Our current TV is a 97' 4runner. Had one white knuckle experience already (west texas trip) with rutted roads, heavy rain, hydroplaning, poor power up hills, and close calls with running out of fuel. I installed a brake controller prior to the trip but still felt that the trailer drove me sometimes rather than the other way around.

I don't have the financial resources to afford a new truck. In fact I don't really have the financial resources to buy any truck (weddings cost a boatload nowadays) but we need one, and we need one quick. Lucky we live in Texas.

A quick look at the local craigslist shows a variety of early 1990's to early 2000's F-150's, F-250's, and assorted other 1/2 to 3/4 ton trucks with the capacity I need to tow. ( I am looking for a V8 with at least a 5.0l engine, tow package if possible, and a towing capacity at or above 7000 lbs - does this sound reasonable?)

I like and trust Ford trucks. And the prices seems right for a used one from private sellers. $3500-4500 bucks is about all we have to spend for a TV right now.