Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-12-2016, 12:32 PM   #21
Rivet Master

, Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlhendren View Post
Ok, I'll add one more piece of advice.....

Remember that if you get in a bind, you can always unhitch and re-position the tow vehicle at a straighter angle and then re-hitch and continue on.
Great advice, but critically important to chock the wheels before you unhitch.

You know this, but sometimes this step gets forgotten in the urgency of the moment.
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 12:44 PM   #22
Vintage Kin

Fort Worth , Texas
I back for a living. I don't like that driveway at all.

Is there any chance that with a pad and some privacy fencing you could store trailer where pic shows it?

Being that the house is right on the corner and that there appears to be no space between house and drive.

What is drop off from paving? 4"? That's a lot. A 90 degree turn means really having to crank things over. TV on and off pavement.

I wouldn't say it can't be done. It's that eventually it's a problem. Mistakes are just so damned expensive.

I'd keep it home as well. But . . . .
slowmover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 12:59 PM   #23
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York
-- Bare hitch ball only is fine -- no weight distribution needed.
-- two spotters better than one IMO, and one spotter should be on the phone with you. Hand signals can be confusing unless you and the spotter are an experienced team and have done this many times.