Old 01-07-2015, 09:31 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2009 25' FB International
Hanover , Pennsylvania
Anyone towing with a RAM 1500?

I've been planning on buying an AS for awhile but haven't pulled the trigger yet. When I bought my last truck, a 2013 RAM 1500 I bought it with the idea of having an AS behind it.

I'm a novice and have been trying to figure out how much of a trailer I can tow. Confusing to say the least.

My RAM is a 5.7 V8, 3.55 ratio rear, 8 speed tranny, crew with Rambox. According to the tow rating I can tow a maximum of 8,150. My GCWR=14, 150, GVWR=6,800, payload=970.

I am considering a 27' FC FB Twin, unit weight=5,868, GVWR=7,600, hitch weight=791.

I know this topic seems to be beaten to death and I'm sorry to have to ask again. My question is can I tow this AS with my RAM?

And thank you in advance!

Old 01-07-2015, 10:19 PM   #2

2013 Ram 1500 V8 5.7 8 spd 3.9 axle for more than a year between FL and NY no complaints but not yet a good steep mountain test with 2014 FC 30--has Rambox and air suspension also

Old 01-07-2015, 10:25 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Hi, are you sure of your specs? Your tongue weight will wipe out your payload.

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:29 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
We do, very nice towing truck with a ProPride hitch and light loads in truck and front of trailer. Our payload is 1365, rear axle also 3.55. We have traveled cross-country many times with this combo in all kinds of terrain, it is a pleasure to tow and decent on gas. When we arrive at a destination it is easy to get around.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9477_2.jpeg
Views:	128
Size:	258.9 KB
ID:	229990  

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote