Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2014, 12:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Houston , Texas
Airstream Axle - Single or twin

Hi everyone,

I am new to AS and am looking to purchase an airstream as soon as I find the one right for me. I am looking at ones 23' and under as I have a 2014 Toyota 4Runner and I believe that my max trailer weight is just under 4000 lbs so I have more for personal possession weight.

My question is. how do the single axel and double axel trailers differ. Any advantage to either? The Cons? ( besides just having to buy two more tires) I saw an '71 Sarfari with a "rare" double axel and I waited too long to buy is since I just wan't sure of the advantages or disadvantages.

Thanks for any feedback you guys can give me. Now that we are officially "emply nesters" my husband and I want to tour the country , espec here in Texas and the airstream is just want we want.

Joanie
Finnegan9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
The only reason I know for some trailers having 4 wheels instead of 2 is weight.
Most trailers that can be towed with your 4Runner will be 2 wheel trailers.
I'm not sure what length/weight separates the single axle trailers from the tandem axle trailers- 20-22' maybe?
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 01:39 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Currently Looking...
Wauwatosa , Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnegan9 View Post
Hi everyone,

I am new to AS and am looking to purchase an airstream as soon as I find the one right for me. I am looking at ones 23' and under as I have a 2014 Toyota 4Runner and I believe that my max trailer weight is just under 4000 lbs so I have more for personal possession weight.