Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Richmond , Virginia
Adequate tow vehicle??????

I'm a 57 year old teacher and am planning to retire in several years to live in an Airstream, travel, do environmentally-oriented volunteer activities, and just hang out in beautiful spots. I own a 2004 Chevy Silverado 4WD, short bed pickup with 5.3 liter V8, HD trailering equipment, 3.73 rear axle, and GVW rating of 6400 lb (according to the original window sticker). According to the original dealer brochure, my maximum trailer weight is 8200 lbs. The most recent Airstream brochure lists the UBW of a 25' Safari SE at 5210 lbs. In real world conditions, will my truck be able to tow this 25 footer, and are there disadvantages (or advantages) to towing with a short bed truck? I'm not interested in buying a new truck unless there are safety or other issues that I'm not aware of.
jrporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 10:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1970 23' Safari
1956 26' Cruiser Overlander
Lambertville , Michigan
THat truck will do just fine with a 25'r. I pull my 31' with an '06 express van (5.3L 3.73 HD) with no issues.

Yes, I am still working on it.
drag'nwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 01:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2016 23' International
Centennial , Colorado
I have the exact same truck and do just fine towing with a short bed. My trailer is lighter than yours though.
Old 03-09-2008, 01:56 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1978 31' Sovereign
, Indiana
I started a thread just recently when we purchased our 31' sovereign..... It seems that some things needed to be done to our 1985 F-150 shortbed to tow our Airstream. We are contemplating doing the upgrades per some really good advice from other forum members... the following is what we plan on doing:

1. Putnam Receiver Hitch (about $162)