Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-07-2007, 11:09 AM   #1
1 Rivet Short

1989 25' Excella
By The Bay , Rhode Island
5er's-need advice

I know I know...it's for a friend.
Gentleman I know is retiring and is determined to buy a 5er and travel around the country.
He is specing out a new truck and asked me for advice as I have been towing for many years. However, I have never towed a 5er.
He is buying a new GM, diesel, and has asked what else he should specify?
Any advice appreciated for 5er towing.
Here is what I can think of;
Diesel
Allison
Tow pkg
Camper mirrors
Camper pkg ( is this a good idea for 5er? or just TC's?)
?
?
?

Thanx, Bill
Old 05-07-2007, 11:20 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillTex
I know I know...it's for a friend.
Gentleman I know is retiring and is determined to buy a 5er and travel around the country.
He is specing out a new truck and asked me for advice as I have been towing for many years. However, I have never towed a 5er.
He is buying a new GM, diesel, and has asked what else he should specify?
Any advice appreciated for 5er towing.
Here is what I can think of;
Diesel
Allison
Tow pkg
Camper mirrors
Camper pkg ( is this a good idea for 5er? or just TC's?)
?
?
?

Thanx, Bill
All those are good, the camper package if it includes optional heavier rear springs is good. The truck should have all the HD stuff already included, but if not, good choices would also be:
Lower ratio differentials (higher number is better).
Max cooling option
Duallie
Load Range E tires (I've seen GM 3500 series trucks with D's)
Limited slip differential
Second alternator. (sometimes an option)
Anybody else?