Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2016, 07:32 PM   #141
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkottum View Post
Moflash, no difference in towing stability, both equally rock solid any roadway, any traffic, any weather. This is because the ProPride/Hensley hitch design does not allow any trailer yaw to be leveraged to the steering axle. Without this hitch design, the longer wheelbase provides a little more stability in theory, but not much in reality. We have had both with a conventional hitch.

There is no doubt the 140" wheelbase Ram is less maneuverable than the 120" wheelbase Ram with or without the Airstream, however. A price to pay for two more passengers or interior cargo space. The Ecodiesel engine is not available in the reg cab 120" wheelbase truck.

Give it some time,The longer wheelbase is a much more forgiving platform than a short wheelbase when it comes to towing a trailer.Regardless on hitch brand selection.


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 10:09 PM   #142
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
We've always been pretty careful with loading, weight/balance, trying to keep hitch weight down. Same with our new Ecodiesel. Our Airstream has only recliner chairs, a couple of consoles in front, and we slide the refiners back.

In the new truck we have put our Weber Q grill and stand, and two rubbermaid boxes of stuff forward, with the things needed for stopping on the road at hand in back. We put down the back seat down and carried more stuff there. This is after six months on the road heading home, we have extra stuff.

We weighed the new rig on the way out of town with us in it and some extra bags for Grandma's garden (our first stop) in the bed. We were near GVWR, well under GAWR and GCWR. Took off the garden bags today, set a little more lift on the ProPride w.d. to perfectly level trailer and move a bit of weight to the steering axle, and things look pretty close to where we want to be. Will know more when home (about 2500 miles) and we can tweak it to a normal traveling load.

The Ram EcoD handles our equipment, ProPride hitch, and Airstream 25 RB nicely. A couple photos of the truck with our present load.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0374.jpeg
Views:	96
Size:	304.2 KB
ID:	259853   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0377.jpeg
Views:	93
Size:	211.4 KB
ID:	259854  

__________________

__________________
Doug and Cheryl
2012 FC RB, Michelin 16, ProPride 1400
2016 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4X4 Ecodiesel 3.92 axles

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 02:08 PM   #143
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
These Rams do not have daytime running lights in operation as delivered from the factory in the U.S. In Canada they do because the law requires them to work, and I understand they can "flash" the truck's computer for Canadians when they buy a truck in the U.S.

But when I asked an Arizona dealer service to do it for us on our new truck, a service manage said no way, Canadian trucks are wired differently.

The headlight options are for regular headlights and projector beam headlights, apparently they codes needed for each are different.

Does anyone have experience or knowledge of what to ask for specifically to get this done (realizing it's hard to get around a manager who says "no way") without researching the question?
__________________
Doug and Cheryl
2012 FC RB, Michelin 16, ProPride 1400
2016 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4X4 Ecodiesel 3.92 axles

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 03:38 PM   #144
jcl
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkottum View Post
These Rams do not have daytime running lights in operation as delivered from the factory in the U.S. In Canada they do because the law requires them to work, and I understand they can "flash" the truck's computer for Canadians when they buy a truck in the U.S.

But when I asked an Arizona dealer service to do it for us on our new truck, a service manage said no way, Canadian trucks are wired differently.

The headlight options are for regular headlights and projector beam headlights, apparently they codes needed for each are different.

Does anyone have experience or knowledge of what to ask for specifically to get this done (realizing it's hard to get around a manager who says "no way") without researching the question?
I don't know if your 2016 model is different than the earlier models, but the following worked up through 2015.

Enable LM5 in the vehicle software.

Details in this document (yes, it says 2500, but it is the same code):
https://www.ramtrucks.com/assets/bbg/pdf/dddpdrl.pdf

Discussed in this thread here:

http://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/r...e-success.html

Good luck

Jeff
__________________
jcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 07:30 PM   #145
Rivet Master
 
crispyboy's Avatar
 
1994 30' Excella
alexandria , Kentucky
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,655
Images: 3
On my 09 truck which has the can-bus system it was just a matter of having the dealer change a code in the computer when I wanted to have the DRL's turned off. I think you should find a more knowledgeable dealer.
__________________
Steve, Christy, Anna and Scout (Border Collie deceased 11-30-2016)
1994 Classic 30'11" Excella - rear twin
2009 Dodge 2500, 6 Speed Auto, CTD, Quad Cab, Short Bed
Hensley with adjustable stinger
WBCCI # 3072
crispyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 12:12 AM   #146
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
Our first long day towing the Ram EcoD/ProPride/Airstream FC 25 took us 564 miles from north of Silver City, NM through Ruidoso, NM (beautiful mountain country) to Amarillo, TX.

Mountain grades, interstate all taken in stride. Set the cruise control and let the little diesel and 8-speed take it from there. Maintains speed up and down grades, rock solid on the interstate, 16.4 mpg for the day. Very comfortable ride, no stress whatsoever.
__________________
Doug and Cheryl
2012 FC RB, Michelin 16, ProPride 1400
2016 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4X4 Ecodiesel 3.92 axles

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:03 AM   #147
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Flying Cloud
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcl View Post
I don't know if your 2016 model is different than the earlier models, but the following worked up through 2015.
I agree. I had a 2014 RAM and part of my requirement when purchasing was to have them enable the DRLs on the truck. It was the first time the mechanics had done it, and it took them longer than expected, but they were able to figure it out eventually. So, as stated, unless something has changed, it can be done.
__________________
wbrisett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 06:55 AM   #148
Rivet Master
 
moparjohn's Avatar
 
1973 25' Tradewind
Ringoes , New Jersey
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 619
Images: 2
drl

I also think you can disengage them by removing a fuse in the panel under the hood. I know personaly I hate them. MPJ
__________________
moparjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:30 AM   #149
Vintage Kin
 
slowmover's Avatar
 
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Images: 1
2014 RAM 1500 EcoDIESEL has arrived!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkottum View Post
Our first long day towing the Ram EcoD/ProPride/Airstream FC 25 took us 564 miles from north of Silver City, NM through Ruidoso, NM (beautiful mountain country) to Amarillo, TX.

Mountain grades, interstate all taken in stride. Set the cruise control and let the little diesel and 8-speed take it from there. Maintains speed up and down grades, rock solid on the interstate, 16.4 mpg for the day. Very comfortable ride, no stress whatsoever.

Average speed according to computer was? (Also is engine hours from start to finish divided by miles travelled).

Travel speed was?

Excellent numbers. I've seen from 14-16/mpg with my 555TQ straight six Cummins at 1,725-rpm at 58/59-mph. 17 is a lofty goal for my 69' combination at just under 18k, but not so for those with the ED (and likely shorter/lighter combo [though weight isn't really the concern]).
__________________
1990 35' Silver Streak Sterling; 9k GVWR.
2004 DODGE Cummins 305/555; 6-manual; 9k GVWR.
Hensley Arrow. 9-cpm solo, 15-cpm towing
Sold: Silver Streak Model 3411
slowmover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:32 PM   #150
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
Not really a numbers guy here, runs about 5-6 mpg better than our 5.7 Hemi towing the same Airstream, about 7-9 mpg better without. Terrain and wind are the determining factors if speed and load are consistent. I like 63-65 mph towing.

With the 8-speed it looks like gears 7 and 8 are overdrive and blocked out in tow/haul mode. Gear 6 is 1 to 1 ratio and allows a minimum of downshifting for small changes in terrain. Even when it does downshift, the next gear is very close and there is little change in engine speed.

On fairly level roadway I turned off tow/haul mode to see how it would do. We have the 3.92 differential and it did well, right up to eight gear and help it fine. But if the grade changes or you turn into the wind, its looking for a lower gear. I'm not sure if I should tow this large trailer without tow/haul so only experimented with it?
__________________
Doug and Cheryl
2012 FC RB, Michelin 16, ProPride 1400
2016 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4X4 Ecodiesel 3.92 axles

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:47 PM   #151
3 Rivet Member
 
2010 28' Flying Cloud
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Top, curious, how does biodiesel clog up inter cooler, turbo, etc?
__________________
dayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 10:12 AM   #152
Rivet Master
 
switz's Avatar

 
2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,799
Images: 8
Our 2012 6.7L Cummins manual only allows up to 5% bio-diesel. The big three - Loves, Pilot & Flying J are pump placarded up to 20% bio- diesel. I avoid bio- diesel like the plague. They are charging more for much less BTUs per gallon.

Mercedes tells me to avoid it as well in our two V6 3.0L diesels.

In a pinch put in just a few gallons to limp to another place and start diluting ASAP.
__________________
WBCCI Life Member 5123, AIR 70341, 4CU, WD9EMC

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic model 30 twin beds, 50 amp service, 900 watt solar system, Centramatics, Dill TPMS, disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 10:42 AM   #153
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,217
I wonder what is different between the 2012 and 2015 Cummins 6.7 regarding biodiesel. My 2015 is supposed to support up to B20 or are the changes more in the emissions equipment. From this article of a 2015 Ram 2500 CTD he explains the benefits.

http://www.trucktrend.com/cool-truck...ear-editorial/


Kelvin
__________________
2008 Classic 25fb "Silver Mistress"
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins. Crew Cab, 4x4, Silver
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:33 PM   #154
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayner View Post
Top, curious, how does biodiesel clog up inter cooler, turbo, etc?
I realize you addressed Lance (Top) here, but biodiesel would have no effect on the intercooler unless you were spraying it into the air intake, diesels inject directly into the cylinder (thus downstream from the intercooler.) I guess if it somehow dirtied the exhaust by orders of magnitude it could have an effect on the turbine side of the turbo but it seems like the potentially sensitive parts would be fuel pumps, lines and injectors and possibly the emissions equipment.
__________________

__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1500


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hemi-Powered Ram 1500 versus 30' Classic LittleRadio 2001 - 2005 Classic 34 10-19-2014 10:10 PM
Dodge Ram 1500 Ecodiesel dlarsen Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches 3 07-10-2014 09:24 PM
2014 Ram 1500 Eco Diesel RamblinManGa Tow Vehicles 2 02-11-2014 11:43 PM
Dodge RAM 1500 SLT 5.9 liter tow vehicle abridges01 Tow Vehicles 10 08-17-2006 09:25 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.