Old 07-28-2011, 02:07 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
Currently Looking...
Raleigh , North Carolina
'06 Tahoe with a 25' 1986 sovereign?

The Sovereign GVWR is 6800 pounds and the dry weight is 5300. The Tahoe is supposed to tow a max of 8000 pounds, according to Consumer Reports. It has a transmission cooler and oil cooler. We're complete beginners so we don't know whether these two will work together. There's some information on these forums that leads me to believe the Tahoe may not be up to the job although these numbers would seem to indicate otherwise. What else do I need to know to make sure?

Ahightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 04:44 PM   #2

1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Well..there are people here who believe that it is "unsafe" {gasp!} to tow with anything smaller than a Mack truck....
and then there are people who believe you can tow with anything.

and then there's a bunch of people in between.

not very helpful, eh?

nevermind what "Consumer Reports" says; you have to go by your owner's manual, and how the information in there applies to your specific vehicle and its installed options. "Some" Tahoe's might be rated to tow 8K, because they have the x, y, and the z installed; yours might not.

It still could be just fine, whatever its actual "rating" is. Remember also that the max tow ratings don't allow for anything being IN the tow vehicle, other than maybe a driver and a full tank of gas; you have to subtract the weight of everything in the tow vehicle from its max rating, so as not to exceed the gross combined vehicle weight. (total weight of the tow vehicle + trailer + contents of both).

Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 04:56 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois