Old 06-29-2015, 08:39 PM   #1

2006 22' Interstate
Las Vegas , Nevada
Winter Living in Anchorage in a AS Interstate?

I wonder if I will be able to live through the winter in my Airstream Interstate. I am leaving for Anchorage, Alaska in about 1 week and don't have any reason to return home to Las Vegas - footloose for a year or more.

Any suggestions for this first time motor home senior traveler that will be traveling by myself with my cell phone and Verizon hot spot (perhaps and or not?) and computer? Nope, not even a little dog.

I am totally new at this.

Old 06-29-2015, 08:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Dallas , Texas
I'm thinking you will be fine if the Interstate is inside an insulated heated garage with full hookups. But ask Protagonist for his thoughts.

Dana

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums

Goal15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 09:28 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Not a good idea.

A guy lived all winter in his Airstream…..In Arizona. He doesn't want to do it again. The snow and the cold made it not fun. Although lower elevations in Arizona would be tolerable

Even Four Season Campers ( which Airstreams are not ) aren't four season campers. Do a google search on the average high and low temperatures of where you will be staying.
Old 06-30-2015, 06:11 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1973 27' Overlander
East Tawas , Michigan
Winter comes early to Alaska (Sept.) and stays late (June). I would try something less harsh for your trial run. There is an on going thread here about a lady that lives in an Airstream in Anchorage full time,do a search.
Old 06-30-2015, 06:24 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2006 22' Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goal15 View Post
I'm thinking you will be fine if the Interstate is inside an insulated heated garage with full hookups. But ask Protagonist for his thoughts.

Dana

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
Yes, if you can do this......and only if you can do this.