Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2016, 09:10 AM   #1
New Member
 
2015 23' Flying Cloud
Scotts Mills , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Nubie with a 2015 Flying Cloud

Question about running on 110 power.

I have my 'new' 2015 Airstream hooked up to my barn's 110 power with guests in it.

I also have a solar panel that I keep the batteries topped up with when not in use.

When I purchased the trailer from the dealer I was told that it would run everything but the AC on the 110. But it has gotten a bit cold here in Oregon and folks are using the heater at full blast and it keeps tripping the breaker. I ended up running an extension cord to another power source, but it's about 100ft, and I am sure I am loosing power with that long of a cord...

Are there any rules of thumb that I should be aware of? Like don't run the TV, heater and Microwave at the same time? Ha!

I am hoping at some point to get the 30amp installed, but can't get an electrician to drive out to the farm for what they consider a small job.

Thank you for any help in advance
Kristy
__________________

__________________
Kristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:20 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
RamblinManGa's Avatar

 
2016 28' Pendleton
Currently Looking...
Scottsdale , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 822
Images: 2
Hi from AZ. . . you didn't say what size circuit you have it plugged into (15-20 amp is pretty standard for houses) and that won't run everything. The microwave is the biggest draw you mentioned & running an extention cord is not a great idea, unless it's a big, fat one. Stop using the microwave & see if then it holds, for a start. . . just thinking out loud. . . Craig. . .p.s. Welcome to the Forums
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 2851,4CU
RamblinManGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:23 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
SeaLevel's Avatar
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
Jupiter , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 487
You could probably run the furnace instead of the heater that is part of the AC unit, but then you would go through propane pretty quickly.
__________________
SeaLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:24 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
2016 23' International
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 193
Do you have propane on the farm? Possibly you could use a propane generator close to the barn and use the 30 amp cord. Most standard generators can be easily converted to run on propane.

The furnace fan is also a big draw on the electical.

Dave
__________________
NoResults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:33 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,111
Images: 4
I ran an underground 30 amp wire to my trailer

Small job ????????? It was a lot of work.( digging an 80 foot long trench ) Even with doing the work myself, it wasn't cheap. ( 30 amp circuit breaker, 100 feet of 8 gauge wire, schedule 40 PVC, the 30 amp outlet and box )

I am guessing that your extension cord has wire that is too thin, most are 16 gauge.( voltage drop ) You could make a heavy duty power cord, that is NO longer than it need be ( again voltage drop )

You could verify my suspicion by checking voltage at the end of your cable. My voltage is 121. BTW 110 volts is kinda low. I think 117 is about average ?????

Also make sure that nothing else is on the circuit that is running to the trailer
__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 12:22 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2013 30' International
Anna Maria , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristy View Post
Question about running on 110 power.

I have my 'new' 2015 Airstream hooked up to my barn's 110 power with guests in it.

I also have a solar panel that I keep the batteries topped up with when not in use.

When I purchased the trailer from the dealer I was told that it would run everything but the AC on the 110. But it has gotten a bit cold here in Oregon and folks are using the heater at full blast and it keeps tripping the breaker. I ended up running an extension cord to another power source, but it's about 100ft, and I am sure I am loosing power with that long of a cord...

Are there any rules of thumb that I should be aware of? Like don't run the TV, heater and Microwave at the same time? Ha!

I am hoping at some point to get the 30amp installed, but can't get an electrician to drive out to the farm for what they consider a small job.

Thank you for any help in advance
Kristy
Do you have a separate breaker box to your barn ? If so you may have heavy enough wire in there to simply accommodate a larger breaker say a 30 AMP. You could do that yourself.
__________________
franklyfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 12:24 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
Floatingair's Avatar
 
1994 30' Excella
Kiefer , Oklahoma
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 62
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 2
Hello, Kristy
Welcome to the Airstream forum.
I really like the idea of using your AS as a temporary guest house.
I'm hoping you are not planning to use your AS guest house during an Oregon winter. My suggestion would be to move your guest to the main house & winterize the AS before your weather reaches freezing temperatures.
As for running your single A/C; a 110v will do fine in very comfortable outdoor temperatures, as long as your AS is in the shade. This winter, I would suggest to move your AS to a open area or inside your barn. Last winter a SOB was destroyed from falling ice and heavy snow four RV spots from mine. Luckily the person wasn't hurt but was very shaken up.
__________________
Floatingair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 02:07 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Middletown , California
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 355
Living in a trailer is "life at the end of an extension cord"! Generally speaking the weak link is the adapter to a standard 3 prong plug from the 30 amp trailer plug, they melt very easily! You should probably rely on the propane furnace for heat and then life should be good. Also many times barns are wired thinking that nothing other than a light bulb or two will be run. You need to check and see what size wire runs to the barn, sometimes a good clue is what size breaker feeds the barn? If it's a 15 amp breaker somebody scrimped on wiring and ran #14 wire. If a 20 amp breaker you might have #12 wire which is still minimal. You might just have to be happy not using much power or keep using another feed with an extension cord from the house. You can buy #12 extension cords but they are not cheap or all that common for a good one and if you shop hard you can find #10 cords for around $100. You didn't tell us enough information so that we know what is really going on. A good 30 amp RV outlet needs fat wire, the longer from the main panel the fatter and more costly the wire will be!
__________________
ijustlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 02:15 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 23' FB Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 150
Images: 2
If the thermostat is set to 'auto' and they're using the heat pump on the roof--that's a pretty big draw.

I've used one of those little 1500 w electric ceramic heaters on household power and it was toasty. Just have them turn it off before using something else

A 100 ft ext cord is REALLY long as well.

Or set the thermostat on 'furn' and use propane instead depending on how long they'll be in there.
__________________
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 08:41 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 990
First your trailer 30 amp cord is 120V (many people call 110V) so your question is WRONG. Your question should be about running on 15amp.

Second the heat pump and AC are the same thing, the heating setting uses as much or more power then the cooling setting.

Now the important thing to remember is that many electricians are too incompetent to understand that the 30amp outlet is NOT 240V or even believe you when you tell them it IS 120V.

240v will fry your appliances, don't let that happen.
__________________
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:27 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
duncans's Avatar
 
2009 25' FB Flying Cloud
1973 31' Sovereign
Mount Angel , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 188
Hi Neighbor!

Hi Kristy,

I don't have an answer to your question, but wanted to say hi. We are nearly neighbors as Burnside Bob (Dave) and I live on Butte Creek, on a farm, just west of 213 on Wagon RD. Welcome to the Forums!

Susan
__________________
duncans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 01:17 AM   #12
New Member
 
2015 23' Flying Cloud
Scotts Mills , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristy View Post
Question about running on 110 power.

I have my 'new' 2015 Airstream hooked up to my barn's 110 power with guests in it.

I also have a solar panel that I keep the batteries topped up with when not in use.

When I purchased the trailer from the dealer I was told that it would run everything but the AC on the 110. But it has gotten a bit cold here in Oregon and folks are using the heater at full blast and it keeps tripping the breaker. I ended up running an extension cord to another power source, but it's about 100ft, and I am sure I am loosing power with that long of a cord...

Are there any rules of thumb that I should be aware of? Like don't run the TV, heater and Microwave at the same time? Ha!

I am hoping at some point to get the 30amp installed, but can't get an electrician to drive out to the farm for what they consider a small job.

Thank you for any help in advance
Kristy
Thanks all...
So I now understand that it is a 15 amp, not 110...
And I now know that the furnace setting must have been turned off! (I didn't know that there were different settings)...
Will play with the settings when my guests leave tomorrow...

The hook up is a 25ft 15 amp 12# extension cord. Will check to see if I can figure out what the breaker box reads... But as I have found that the previous owners skimped on everything... and the farm is over 100 years old, my guess is it is way sub standard...
__________________
Kristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 05:16 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,111
Images: 4
volts are different than amps

Many circuits are [ 15 amp /110 volts ]

20 amp circuits require a different circuit breaker and 12 gauge wire ( still 110 volts )

110 volts isn't really 110 volts
__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 08:28 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
m.hony's Avatar
 
2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10,932
If you are saying the heat pump is tripping the breaker, the heat pump is still the a/c.
If you are saying the furnace fan is tripping the breaker, I don't get it.
The furnace fan is 12 volt.
__________________

__________________
2013 Classic 30 Limited
2007 Silver Toyota Tundra Crew Max Limited 5.7 iForce
2006 Vivid Black Harley-Davidson Road King Classic
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 GMC Yukon Denali 4WD & 2015 Flying Cloud 30 ? DHart Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches 22 04-09-2015 07:01 AM
Nubie question on hooking up converter... Fireside79 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 06-24-2014 12:10 PM
2010 Airstream Flying Cloud LIKE NEW!!!!! S2010 Airstream Flying Cloud LIKE NEW!!!! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 11-11-2010 03:40 PM
2010 Airstream Flying Cloud LIKE NEW!!!!! S2010 Airstream Flying Cloud LIKE NEW!!!! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 11-04-2010 03:40 PM
2010 Airstream Flying Cloud BRAND NEW!!!!! S2010 Airstream Flying Cloud BRAND NEW!! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 11-03-2010 03:50 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.