Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2015, 09:46 AM   #1

2015 25' Flying Cloud
Carmel , Indiana
Newbie with 2015 Flying Cloud wants heat!

Just picked up our 25' Airstream yesterday. I am completely new to this. It's winterized, in the Midwest, and it's 30 degrees and falling this week. Can I turn on the furnace for a week here to pack it up before we head south? I tried turning on propane and turning on the furnace, but that doesn't seem to work. What am I missing here?
Davidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 09:52 AM   #2

2015 25' Flying Cloud
Carmel , Indiana
I guess I was missing time. Works fine with some patience. All ok. It's getting down near 5 degrees here this week. Can I leave propane furnace running to keep it at 50 degrees or so for 10 days without any issue? We are not sleeping in it yet; just packing it up.
Davidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 09:52 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Welcome to the forum.

I have no way of knowing for sure what your heater problem is, but I know you must have 12VDC to the heater (battery charged), and you must have propane to the system (check to see that the stove works).

However, if the furnace never attempts to start, I do know there is an option switch on the control board in the air conditioner that must be set in the right position for the furnace to work. This is on the systems that have one thermostat on the wall to control both systems. Sometimes the factory, or dealer forget to option the board correctly.
Old 01-04-2015, 09:53 AM   #4
Rivet Master

Common Sense , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidel View Post