Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Winter Living
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-16-2008, 04:35 PM   #1

Juno , Alaska
Insulation width

I am an engineering student who is looking for an interesting project. I have thought about making a completely self sufficient airstream trailer. I know that this has been done before, but those are mostly minimalist trailers. I am thinking more of a green home on wheels. Something that I could take up to the mountains and ski bum in for a while in the coldest winter months and still come home and enjoy warmth, television, and other perks. I have an idea of how I want to do many of these things, but what I am struggling with at first is the insulation. I plan to tear out the entire interior of an airstream and basically start from scratch, but how much width is available for insulation or another way of saying it is how much distance is there between the outer and inner layers of aluminum.
Thanks.
Jfalcey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 05:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hello J -- welcome to the Forums! The answer is 2". The semi-monocoque stiffness comes via the contribution of both the inner & outer skins. Don't discard that inner skin! At least you'll use it as a pattern. The design is "semi" monocoque because the frame & floor aren't an integral part of the shell top-to-bottom like an aircraft fuselage would be.