Old 01-09-2011, 06:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy 28
nashville , Tennessee
1977 argosy. complete newb. completely overwhelmed.

what ive have...
ok, a few months ago i took the plunge. i probably overpayed (2500) for what i have vs what i have planned. its a rear bed 77 argosy. the man i bought it from said it was a 30 but i have since learned this does not exist and that its a 28?
what i want...
my ultimate dream is to completely renovate the interior as i really am not a fan of the interior panelling and cheap looking wood and appliances that are in there at this point... im very curious if it is possible to have a rain water collection and filtration system installed or if this is a dream of its own. i also would like to go the solar route so it can be fully sustainable without stopping at campgrounds all the time as i plan to someday use this to tour with my band. am i in lala land?
what ive done.
i took out all of the closets and walls and have started removing the ugly vinyl floors as i have noticed some soft spots and some evidence of wildlife. there was a huge hornets nest under the broken down vent cover... ahhh. im assuming the story is not too different underneath as i have killed many spiders and bees before winter rolled around. like a fool i was out of town before the weather was cold and returned to find i had made my first big mistake of neglecting the winterization.
what im afraid of....
can someone tell me the damage and perhaps where to begin with this project. i hate the interior panelling and am quite sure i dont have the know how to do the perfect job repanelling the inside...