Old 06-08-2015, 09:19 PM   #1
Full Time Adventurer

2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
Cool Queen to Twin/Nook/Desk Conversion - 27' FB International

Disclaimers: I am not a professional. I have no idea what the heck I'm doing.

We have been planning to do a bedroom reno for some time now. But we put it off until after we went full-time because I was nervous about doing the work myself.

So this month we've been #moochdocking with family and getting some assistance and the use of tools. The cushions for our dinette and lounge are getting re-upholstered and the bedroom is getting remodeled.

I did a few searches on 'Queen to Twin conversions' searching for descriptions and mostly photos for ideas. So I thought it might be useful to post a few details of what we have done.

We wanted to redo the rear bedroom for a few reasons. My wife and I both work in web, but my job eats up more of my attention during the day. And I wanted a dedicated workspace that wasn't the dinette. The other part was we felt the queen was to big, and the the FB wasted a lot of potential space, as much as we love this floor plan.

I know what you're thinking, queen to big? We're cuddlers, and started our marriage with a double. And then moved up to a queen. So really, we have never felt the need for more.

Part of my inspiration is owed to this Worksology, and in a way I built off his ideas.

We liked the idea of a desk, the idea of a nook, and using a twin. As for the nook, we have a 3 month old with us. She sleeps in a portable bassinet, which we can place on the nook. It will also serve as a baby changing station.

So we drew up a plan and got to work. The first task would be tackling the sleeping arrangements.

Naturally the first thing we did was disassemble the original bedroom.

Went and purchased wood and started mocking things up and cutting wood.