Old 02-03-2005, 07:31 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Overwhelmed and loving it :)

hello all, I'm a noob to the whole airstream world and just recently purchased an 62 globetrotter. I'm now in process of removing everything from the interior so I can replace the floors and repaint the interior. I guess my question is two fold.

1. What's the best way to remove the interior paint?
2. What's the best way to remove rivets? where should I buy new ones? and how many should I order? what's the best (not super expensive) rivet gun?
3. I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed, what did I get myself into? how long is this going to take to
A. replace the floor.
B. strip out all the paint.
C. rewire for updated electric systems?

Sorry for all the questions, I really appreciate the help

Old 02-03-2005, 08:23 PM   #2
Past Prez.NEU/Membership

2005 34' Classic
2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
N Smithfield , Rhode Island
Congrats

Bobolo, welcome to the forum and congradulations on your purchase!

This is a great forum with a volume of knowledge. You have a lot of good questions that have been answered many times. If you go to the search key above, type in key names of what you are searching for, and you'll be surprised at all the threads already started with the same questions.

You can also go to the forum key, scroll down to Airstream Restoration, Repairs & Parts Forum, then click on the one of the five categories of your choice. All threads will appear and you'll have a field day. You can always add your own comments and concerns to old threads started 2 years ago, it will make that thread alive again for a day until no more posts are made.

Good luck, have fun with your search,
Gail

2004 Yukon Denali
, 2016 GMC 2500 Denali-Duramax Diesel
WBCCI #2905-NEU

AirHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 02:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 31' Sovereign
Portland , Oregon
There are indeed lots of answers to your questions in these forums. A couple of quick answers might help though: