Old 07-31-2003, 01:04 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1975 27' Overlander
Question Newbie here, have cleaning question..

Hi!
I am new to this site, having just purchased a 1975 international land yacht ( thats what it says on it, anyways!)

This is a giant leap for me, I have a tent trailer that I have used for a number of years, and now this big thing....

Anyways, please pardon me if I don't get the terms right, but I need to know what to use to clean the interior of this trailer!!

From the look and smell, this trailer has been chain-smoked in since it was born....the walls are a scuzzy yellow-brown...

I have been carefully unscrewing things and taking them outside to clean them, and so far, off have come curtains, out has come all the upholstery, the drawers..

Ok, what is the best thing to do the walls with? I have some TSP, and so far it is working pretty well.

Anyone know of someone/someplace in Eastern ontario that does upholstery and/or draperies?
thanks
Wolf

Old 07-31-2003, 01:29 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

Antique Road Show

That scuzzy yellow-brown color is the original vintage patina. If you mess with it, you may drastically effect the value of your trailer!

(Just kidding--I thought I'd try that one out here before using it at the VAC Rally next week )

If you have the original Zolatone painted walls, it's a matter of strong household cleaners and elbow grease. I used Simple Green, Zep Citrus, and Formula 409 (not all at once--on successive passes). Layer by layer, most of it comes off, leaving a very pretty scuzzy beige. Whichever product smells best to you, use that one last.

If you're talking about the vinyl covered walls, Inland Andy has a helpful hint about making them look new with floor wax. You can check it out at: www.inlandrv.com/articles/interior5bucks.htm

Welcome, and good luck!

Tom

Old 07-31-2003, 01:32 PM   #3
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois