Old 10-01-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1966 26' Overlander
Blue Ridge , Texas
Newbie - 1966 Overlander

Ok. So im 27 and I just purchased my very first Airstream. A 1966 Overlander. Can anyone give me some advise on where to start this renovation. I know that the Ac has to be replaced as well as the Furnace converter, hot water heater and the refridgerator. I just would like to know if there are any places that could help me out with some of this stuff. I am a teacher in North Texas and have wanted one of these since i was a boy. So basically I need to know where to start!!!!!

Old 10-01-2012, 05:31 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1993 30' Excella
Lakeland , Florida
Congrats and welcome, take lots of pictures and post what you think you'd like to do. Meanwhile you can search different forums for repairs to see if you wanna tackle the project yourself or can live with it. I've seen 30 year old Airstreams that look like they rolled off the assembly line and ones that I wouldn't store trash in, that were being camped in.
Good luck

Old 10-01-2012, 05:42 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2016 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Hinckley , Ohio
I would start with what you need to start using it. Water sytem, gas system, refridge. Then move on to what it needs to tow it. Axles, tires, bearings, brakes & safety stuff.
Old 10-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #4
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Howdy and to Airforums.com, Red! You found the right place to find out how to put your new-to-you Airstream in order.

Get used to the fact that if your TT (travel trailer) needs ALL that stuff done (and that is believable), it will take a fair bit of time and something over $3,000 in parts.

Or, you could get it done fast, if you are willing to spend more and use someone else's labour.