Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > General Interior Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-02-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

gainesville , Florida
My trailer smells like mothballs

hi, i'm new to rv'ing. i have a 2008 31 classic. ever since i bought it it had a strong smell like mothballs. i've tried everything to air it out and have had the trailer for months now. when its closed up it still gets pretty strong. when you open the cabinets the strength is strong. Could it be the glue they used to build and if so does everybody have this smell?
thanx, stuart
stuartkaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:10 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
If it smells like mothballs, it's probably mothballs. It probably either smelled musty, or like dogs, and the PO added mothballs somewhere you haven't found them yet, or they've disolved into the carpet where they were. Try vacuuming everything in the trailer, even the curtains (gently). Put n open box of baking soda on the floor in a central location, and leave the trailer for a couple of days. Come back and check for the naptha smell then.
Old 01-02-2012, 07:13 AM   #3

2006 19' International CCD
Olathe , Kansas
Did you buy it used? Maybe the PO used moth balls during storage? Here's a couple of links that may help.

http://www.ehow.com/how_4453525_get-...all-smell.html

http://www.imtek.biz/page/N/CTGY/sp-moth

Good luck but it sounds like charcoal, heat and a good airing out for a month is the only way to get rid of the smell.
blmitch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:47 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois