Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2004, 07:47 PM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
hohne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 216
Images: 17
Oh yeah...

The mount plate on the wall has four studs scewed into it with rubber bumpers the 'catch' the TV to keep it still while locked.

Otherwise, it could still swing around a bit and hit the wall while locked.

-Rob
__________________

__________________
hohne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 07:49 PM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
hohne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 216
Images: 17
oh yeah.. again

The mount is manufactured by Omnimount.
__________________

__________________
hohne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 05:54 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
RivetED's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
North Central , USA
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 661
Re: Model Numbers...

Quote:
Originally posted by hohne
Our TV is a Sharp AQUOS LC-15E1U tv,

The CD/DVD/Tuner is a JVC KD-DV5000

The speakers are JVC CS-XV620
Is your CD/DVD/Tuner (assume am/fm) also the amp for the speakers. Does the TV play through the tuner?

We have been looking at LCD-TV's very seriously this week. Have to do something for the front of our 25. The 15" Sharp Aquos is our choice...best quality picture/angle-of-view we've seen. I'm going to try and find the Omnimount. Would appreciate any pics of the mods A/S did to help secure it.

I'm not sure about what to do with the sound. Stand alone, the TV spkrs are fair at best. We have the factory AM/FM/CD mounted in the front cabinet over the sofa/gaucho. I can't see any simple way to tie into it.
__________________
RivetED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 06:28 PM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
hohne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 216
Images: 17
When we play a DVD, the sound comes through the stereo system and all six speakers. You can control them via the stereo and its controls (fade, balance, turn sets off, etc). Did I tell you that the sound is pretty awesome?

I have not tried to see if the tv audio out is fed into the stereo as an input -- if it is not, I would be surprised. Let me go out and take a look...remember, the manual for the stereo is pretty complex...

Stand by...

Rob
__________________
hohne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 06:56 PM   #19
3 Rivet Member
 
hohne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 216
Images: 17
The Sharp TV does not have audio out capabilities...

It has audio and video in, an antenna input, and a headphone output.

Thus, it cannot feed a stereo

unless...

You can take the headphone out signal from the TV and adapt it to AUX IN on a stereo...

Does your tuner/CD have an AUX IN capability? If so, it might not take much McGyvering to get the audio signal into it, feeding your stereo speakers.

I do not know if a headphone jack output would be too much signal for a pre-amp input to a car stereo...if it is not, then maybe all you need to do is adapt it...if so, you need to both adapt it and attenuate it.

Pictures of the mount are forthcoming...

Rob
__________________
hohne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 08:16 PM   #20
3 Rivet Member
 
hohne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 216
Images: 17
...pictures are in borrowed digital camera -- will have them inside a computer early next week...
__________________
hohne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 09:42 PM   #21
Just a member
 
thenewkid64's Avatar
 
1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,539
Images: 21
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
Quote:
Originally posted by hohne
The Sharp TV does not have audio out capabilities...

It has audio and video in, an antenna input, and a headphone output.

Thus, it cannot feed a stereo

unless...

If you have the same model I do the AV/2 inputs can be reconfigured as outputs. I do not remember on the menu system, but you can switch the AV/2 to either input or output on the audio side. This is how I feed the sound to the in dash aux inputs of my sound system. It also lets you continue to use the front speakers in conjunction with the other speakers in the coach.
__________________
Brett G
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato


thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 10:14 PM   #22
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Exclamation Just so you're aware

If you're in the market for an LCD TV, be sure it's capable of HDTV, as the FCC has mandated that all TV signals, starting in 2006, broadcasted will be such..The older TV will no longer be of use or, need to be converted to receive the new standard..Just so you know..

ciao
__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 10:29 PM   #23
Rivet Master
 
RoadKingMoe's Avatar
 
2001 34' Limited
The State of , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,605
Images: 23
The Sharps (and many others) are 640X480 "VGA" i.e. low-resolution NTSC, just like all TVs produced for years.

When analog NTSC broadcasting is shut down in 2006, there will be digital ATSC tuners that down-convert enhanced definition TV (EDTV) and high definition TV (HDTV) signals to analog NTSC, and "letterbox" 16:9 to NTSC 4:3. Currently, they cost $300-400, but that will come down with higher quantities when everyone needs one.

If you have an ATSC tuner today, you'll note that most of what you pick up is still 640X480 4:3 NTSC quality, not EDTV (Fox) or HDTV (720p ABC, 1080i CBS and NBC).

I agree that I wouldn't spend a penny on TV unless I absolutely had to, until TVs that handle ATSC and 16:9 or 4:3 formats are available.
__________________
Maurice
RoadKingMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 10:30 PM   #24
Just a member
 
thenewkid64's Avatar
 
1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,539
Images: 21
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
From the USA Today:

Broadcasters must return their analog spectrum to the government by 2006, but only if 85% of households can get digital signals.

This means that if the adoption of the HDTV hardware takes longer, our old TV's will still work.

More:

In April, Federal Communications Commission Chairman Michael Powell asked TV makers to voluntarily install digital receivers, or tuners, in half of TVs with at least 36-inch screens by Jan. 1, 2004. Under his proposed schedule, tuners would be phased into smaller TVs over the following three years so that all sets would have them by Dec. 31, 2006.


This assumes that 85% of the sets in use today will be replaced in 2 years????

Believe me I am a Videophile, but I am not going to shell out the big bucks to get HDTV today when it will be cheaper than a night at the movies in less than 2 years. Besides you can always get a converter box. I already have one of a sort on my NTSC TV. I have digital cable and the picture quality is mediocre at best. Can't wait to see how bad they mess up the HDTV feed.
__________________
Brett G
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato


thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 10:58 PM   #25
Rivet Master
 
RoadKingMoe's Avatar
 
2001 34' Limited
The State of , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,605
Images: 23
The requirement is that 85% of the top 200 markets be SERVED by ATSC, not that 85% of the viewers in the entire country have ATSC tuners.
__________________
Maurice
RoadKingMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 11:38 PM   #26
Rivet Master
 
RivetED's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
North Central , USA
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 661
New Broadcast Regs

The reason for my concern for the 'audio-out' was my affinity for excellent sound & video. I assume that the Airstream fact. sys. uses the amplified audio from the CD/DVD/Tuner to drive the spkrs, the best way IMHO.

Although informed about new broadcast regulations, I wasn't aware current TV's would be 'outdated' & require a converter.

The 2 options I now see are, 1): Either buy a HDTV now, excluding the Sharp we're looking at, or 2): buy a 'cheap' 13" DVD/TV ($200) as a 'throw-away' until things are settled.

I'm open to opinions.

P.S. 'hohne', Thanks for your trouble and input. -Ed
__________________
RivetED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 10:32 AM   #27
Rivet Master
 
RoadKingMoe's Avatar
 
2001 34' Limited
The State of , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,605
Images: 23
There is yet another reason to avoid buying HDTV equipment now.

The connection between things like HDTV capable satellite and cable tuners, which also include the ATSC tuner that "HDTV-ready" sets don't have, up until recently has been ANALOG component (YPrPb).

The motion-picture industry has been and is still against analog because it can be used to video-capture high resolution signal.

So they are supporting a new interface called Digital Video Interface with High-Definition Copy Protection (DVI-HDCP). This is NOT the same DVI that comes on flat-panel computer monitors! In fact, if a box has that form of DVI output, it MUST be down-converted to NTSC quality, by agreement of the Broadcast Protection Working Group.

I know that the HDCP encryption was cracked almost simultaneously and independently by researchers at 3 universities, however, it isn't the copy protection that makes the DVI signal unrecordable, its the huge volume of data moving across it.

Digital HDTV quality programming is stored and transmitted in a highly compressed format. If it were not, it could not even be stored and it certainly couldn't be transmitted within allowed bandwidth. Hollywood wants that signal to be decompressed in the first box it passes through, rather than be passed on from the first box to others in compressed format. And decompressing in the first box, means that transfer to other boxes occur over something capable of the HUGE bandwidth, and that's DVI. For this purpose, DVI-HDCP.

Passing the signal on in compressed digital format allows "home recording" on something like Digital VHS (DVHS). The standard for transferring compressed digital video data is Firewire, something that's been around in the computer world for awhile. And there is a DTCP copy-protection scheme for Firewire as well.

The industry is trying to trick the buying public into believing DVI is superior to Firewire because the former can transmit many times the bandwidth of Firewire. The fact is that Firewire can transmit 11 channels of compressed digital video, if you support a connection scheme that supports home recording, and doesn't decompress the data until it gets to the display. The other thing that DVI allows that Firewire doesn't is called overlays, where menus or advertising can be added to the program source.

My reason for going through all this is to warn you that a display that only has analog component video input one day may not be allowed to get HDTV quality signal from a source box, if Hollywood has their way and closes the "analog loophole" they hate so much.

I also wanted to warn you that the computer monitor that has DVI, that you are considering buying, will not be able to use the DVI-HDCP from a HDTV satellite or cable tuner, or Digital VHS, unless it is specifically DVI-HDCP.

If you HAVE to buy HDTV level equipment now, make sure the display has DVI-HDCP inputs, and that any source box you buy has DVI-HDCP outputs. If you want to do home-recording at the HDTV level, make sure the source box has Firewire output. Otherwise, you will have to have a source box that has the recording (i.e. TiVo) built into it, where the signal can be recorded before being uncompressed.
__________________
Maurice
RoadKingMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 11:26 AM   #28
uwe
418
 
uwe's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador
Yucca Valley , California
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 1963 26' Overlander
Posts: 4,767
Images: 41
Send a message via Skype™ to uwe
TV Sound through Stereo

Another easy way to get TV Stereo sound through your existing Stereo is by means of an FM modulator.
The modulator accepts headphone impedance inputs, then converts the sound to Stereo FM in pre-selected frequencies.
You can make a preset on your stereo, or manually tune to the frequency that the modulator is set to. Now the tv sound will come through your stereo, with no wires or input/output problems.
It sounds good, good enough in my opinion for all but the highest end surround systems.
The signal is stereo, and you might have to turn the tv volume to a good enough level for the modulator to work properly. Overall volume would be controlled via the stereo.
Many minivan/suv lcd tv's use this system of getting sound to the stereo.
Apple's i-pod has this as an accessory.
__________________

__________________
Uwe
www.area63productions.com
uwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.