Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2009, 05:36 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
down south , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Installing a LP detector

Has anyone installed a new LP detector? What is brand of choice? If it runs on 12v, where do you run the wires? Can you come off an existing run? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Dieselgrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:13 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Silverhobby's Avatar
 
1967 26' Overlander
1968 30' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
Mosheim , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,301
Send a message via Yahoo to Silverhobby
You can run the detector off of any dedicated circuit. It will need to be a circuit that will have constant 12 volt power so the leak detector is protecting you at all times. There are several good choices for aftermarket installation. A few brand names are Pre-Tell 26, available in both horizontal or vertical mount positions, and also the Safe-T-Alert 40 Series. Any RV parts department can help you with a purchase.
__________________

__________________
Kevin with Baity the Lab/Pointer
//------AIR # 7303------\\
WBCCI 17109
visit my restoration blog at:
Silverhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
I installed mine under the counter next to the furnace. I spliced into the wires for the furnace. I figure that is the most likely place for a serious leak. In mounting keep in mind propane is heavier than air and settles at floor level first.
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 04:19 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
jking09's Avatar
 
Fayetteville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to jking09
i was kinda wondering on this topic as well.. the 2 responses are helpful, so thanks!
__________________
jking09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:29 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
1963 24' Tradewind
San Diego , California
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 360
Do you have a Carbon-Monoxide (CO) detector also? If not Safe-T-Alert has a combo unit for CO & Propane it's 12v for an RV. I just installed one last week. It is a flush mount one that sticks out aprox 1/4 " installation instruction says to install no higher than 20" from the floor near the sleeping area. works great for my 63 TW that didn't have one ever. Do a google search for type of detector you want ie: propane, CO and Propane etc.
__________________
Sixty3TW4US is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:59 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
RBolton's Avatar
 
Belington , West Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 304
The discussion usually goes: LP detector down low, CO detector up high. I had looked a the combo unit too but was worried about placement. Other than the warning to not install the Safe-T-Alert unit no higher than 20", did any of the paper work address this?
__________________
RBolton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 12:44 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
1963 24' Tradewind
San Diego , California
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBolton View Post
The discussion usually goes: LP detector down low, CO detector up high. I had looked a the combo unit too but was worried about placement. Other than the warning to not install the Safe-T-Alert unit no higher than 20", did any of the paper work address this?

The instructions were complete as far as the opperation And installation. It did state that the CO sensor was very sensitive, equipped with test modes etc. It is approved for RVs so I feel that it should be ok to use. They address different warnings as in proper ventilation and all the precations one should take. We always open slightly the lowest window opening at the door, crack roof vents, and misc. other windows. I know saftey is of utmost importance and one has to feel comfortable with their saftey devices, I do along with proper ventalation.
Anyone else useing the combo unit ??
__________________
Sixty3TW4US is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:00 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
I use a combo unit that plugs into the wall. I set it low to the floor. It has a battery backup should the power go out. If the battery is low, it chirps to let you know.
__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 04:43 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
down south , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Cameront120,

Can you give us a make and model of your plug in unit? Sounds like something a lot of folks could use.
__________________
Dieselgrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 05:22 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
It is a Carbon Monoxide, Propane & Natural Gas Alarm manufactured by Kidde. Model No. KN-COEG-3

It is UL and CSA listed.

Carbon Monoxide Alarms AC Plugin

Data Sheet:

http://www.kiddeus.com/utcfs/ws-384/...13%20Sheet.pdf

I hope this helps.
__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:09 AM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
down south , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Thanks cameront120. When I do a search on the product I find the reviews very negative on this product. Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kidde KN-COEG-3 Nighthawk Plug-In Carbon Monoxide and Explosive Gas Alarm with Battery Backup Have you had problems with false alarms with your unit? thanks!
__________________
Dieselgrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:42 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
I have had no false alarms at all. The only time I hear anything is when the battery is low. It will then beep intermitently to tell you it needs to be replaced. I wonder if the people are confusing a false alarm with a low battery signal?
__________________

__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke detector Ed L General Appliance Topics 4 05-14-2007 02:58 PM
Lp Detector davidz71 LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 7 12-12-2005 10:44 AM
Lp Detector PARKS1963 LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 3 09-15-2005 09:37 PM
Propane Detector Jim Tyrney Airstream Motorhome Forums 10 08-02-2005 09:55 AM
Location for a CO detector Silvertwinkie General Interior Topics 7 03-07-2003 02:46 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.