Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2006, 12:57 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1970 23' Safari
austin , Texas
I'm frightened of the 70's plastics

Hi to all. I'm new here, first post. I've got some vintage camping experience uder my belt as I've restored a 72 barth and built my teardrop trailer from the ground up. (pics below).

so we've always wanted an airstream and started to look. of course we bought the first one we found as it was local, has working a/c and exterior was dent free etc. it's a 72 globetrotter.

now, I am finding that I am offended by the plastic wood veneers etc. and my wife is not liking my idea of gutting and rebuilding just to please my eye. we could do w/o spending unecessary $ right now.

my biggest concern is the bathroom sink has a hole it it; I'm talking about an additional hole, not the drain. I see that whole sink and vanity are one big molded piece and my dreams of dropping in a cool stainless steel bowl sink are evaporating.

also, anybody have any good ideas for replacing all the broken roll up doors for the overhead storage? and the faux wood vinyl that coveres everything in the kitchen....

I'm not sure if I should put much effort into this one or try to find a cool 68 globetrotter or safari (I think I prefer some of the safari floorplans)

thanks for any suggestions,

paul schuster
austin, tx

fuegos100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 01:13 PM   #2
Remember Burma Shave!

2006 19' Safari
2000 25' Safari
1985 25' Sovereign
Fort Myers , SW.Florida
Rivet

Hey Paul, & welcome to the Forums!

Looks like you’ve done a great job on the Barth, did you build the Teardrop yourself?

I'm with you on the 70's plastic. Not afraid of it, just don't personally like it.