Old 09-07-2016, 07:29 PM   #1

2006 25' Safari
Walnut , California
Huge project mobile Barbershop

Hi, I'm new to Airstreams and I just bought a gutted 2006 25fb Safari. I'm at a lost right now and any tips or advice would help. I'm trying to convert the first picture to the second one all on my own. I need to know what type of screws to use to mount mirrors and secure cabinets and other fabricated parts. I need to know how to secure chairs to the subfloor. How I should run my plumbing to get rid of the tank vents sitting in the middle of the floor. How to install laminate flooring if there's is a special way to do so. What type of brackets to purchase. How to mount mirrors on a curved wall, etc. if you can give me any advice. Anything would help. Thank you. And I will post progress pics as I begin the build. Thanks in advance.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1473294118.082615.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	271103Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1473294197.705163.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	271104

Old 09-08-2016, 09:31 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1970 23' Safari
2005 30' Classic
1986 31' Sovereign
Lorain , Ohio
First off, congratulations! Second, you have some work cut out for you and an exciting project! I'll attempt to offer some advice one by one.

"I need to know what type of screws to use to mount mirrors and secure cabinets and other fabricated parts."

Unfortunately, you don't have the original to study. I will suggest to use rivets when possible for mounts to the interior skin. You should expect to construct unique mounts curved to fit the walls with flanges to accept the rivets. Short sheet metal screws can also be used.

"I need to know how to secure chairs to the subfloor."

I would use T-nuts ( http://www.lowes.com/pd/The-Hillman-...e-Nuts/4312131 ) recessed and screwed to the floor. This would allow you to unbolt the chairs for relocation and cleaning.