Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > General Interior Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-18-2019, 09:03 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Dreaming of fixing up an Airstream

My name is John, I live in Houston TX and I am thinking about acquiring and fixing up an old Airstream. I am better equipped for this project than some because I have a lot of experience fixing and building things. The only things besides travel trailers that I have not worked on are cranes and airplanes. I have a lot of mechanical skills and I can weld.

I want an Airstream large enough for my wife and I and perhaps a dog or two that I can easily haul with my Ram 1500 Hemi.

I am wondering what years are the best, light weight high quality with nice windows. (no Jalousie windows for me ) I am also wondering if it is practical to have a mid trailer bath in a 26 foot trailer to have the bedroom in the back. I only need 1 bed, we wont be traveling with kids or guest.

Thanks

-John
John_Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 07:57 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1969 18' Caravel
Greenville , whereEverIroam
John,

Welcome to the Airstream community! Finding and fixing up a vintage AS is a fun and rewarding challenge. There is a group of vintage Airstream enthusiasts and a wealth of knowledge and shared experience freely available here an elsewhere on the web.

Folks who have purchased a used AS have done everything from relatively minor fixes and clean up to full "shell-off" re-builds, many of which have been extensively documented on this site, often with fascinating and helpful pictures. Use the search function here and be prepared to get lost in hours of interesting reading!