Old 06-06-2011, 11:22 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
BGI , Washington
Question Clipper Deluxe restoration

Could someone please give me a general ideal of how much time and money it would take to restore a 1950's(we think) clipper deluxe? The appliances seem to still work, BUT(and its a big one) there is a lot of dry rot in the bathroom, so the floor at a minimum needs replaced.

My wifes Grandfather said we could have the trailer. But after reading through this forum, i'm not even sure its a realistic project. My wife really wants to try though.

Old 06-06-2011, 11:31 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
BGI , Washington
Also, in case it's relevant

We don't really care about keeping it original.
I'm good with cabinetry and woodworking
I'm an electrician
But i have limited experience with plumping

Old 06-06-2011, 11:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
A big factor is cost is how much work can you do yourself and how much will be hired out. Several hundred hours if not a thousand including polishing. Parts, rough estimate $10,000, labor, yourself $0, hired out $50 to $100 per hour.

Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malador View Post
Could someone please give me a general ideal of how much time and money it would take to restore a 1950's(we think) clipper deluxe? The appliances seem to still work, BUT(and its a big one) there is a lot of dry rot in the bathroom, so the floor at a minimum needs replaced.

My wifes Grandfather said we could have the trailer. But after reading through this forum, i'm not even sure its a realistic project. My wife really wants to try though.
Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango
1979 23' Safari, and 1954 29' Double Door Liner Orange, CA

http://billbethsblog.blogspot.com/
wkerfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:43 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member