Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2007, 05:10 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1994 34' Limited
colebrook , Connecticut
Carpet removal

hi all

i'm a newbie and need some information.
we have a 1994 34' classic. we are considering new flooring in the bath.
before i proceed i would like to know:

1. is the carpet glued or stapled down ?

2. what is the purpose of the angled section of the bathroom vanity next to toilet for ? why is it carpeted ?

any help is appreciated

mark
malett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 05:34 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1964 17' Bambi II
Vintage Kin Owner
Schererville , Indiana
I just took the carpet out of my '86 & it was stapled in the bathroom. The rest of it was installed with the tack strips around the parimeter. I guess they stapled the bathroom because it was small & hard to put the tack strips around. It came up pretty easily, but I had to pull all the staples with a pliers. Either way, it's not a big deal. Can't help you with the angled section.

1964 Bambi II
1988 Avion 32S
Becky B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 05:45 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 27' Overlander
Central , Ohio
Quote:
why is it carpeted
They did that to prevent shoe marks on the plastic. In such a small area you tend to hit the plastic with the tip of your shoe. Mine has no carpet and when we got it it had black scuff marks.
Ganglin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 09:05 AM   #4
aluminauti

Where we , Park it!
Hi Mark!

Generally, A/S did not glue carpet down.

In the older units (we had a 74 & now a 75 22' argy) tack strip was used.

In the 90's units, (we had a 94 MH & now a 96 34' limited front kitchen as well) the carpet was laid before the built-in furniture was installed. We removed the carpet on the 94 unit in favor of cork & wound up cutting away the carpet with a knife if we couldn't dislodge it from under the "furniture."