Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-15-2011, 07:16 AM   #1

2012 27' FB International
Austin , Texas
Talking Words of Wisdom ... Please

I am new to not only the forum, but also to Airstreams! My husband and I met at work 2 years ago (he is a firefighter and I am a paramedic - both in Austin), got married at the beginning of October 2011, and we decided to dive right in to our first major adventure as husband and wife...we rented out our downtown condo, bought a 2012 27' International FB and moved into an RV park in downtown Austin as fulltimers.

We are so excited, and learning so much - but I have heard over and over again that the best advice and wisdom comes from the forums. I just thought that I would introduce myself and ask:

If you were limited to the top 3 things you wish you knew when you were a beginner, what would they be?

Thanks a ton!
Old 11-15-2011, 07:26 AM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Welcome Aboard....

Although we had been streaming for 18 Seasons, I consider the purchase of the new Classic in 2004 the start of the beginner status...

1) The Forum's

2) The Forum's

3) Spend more time shopping for gently used...

Bob
Old 11-15-2011, 08:14 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Corpus Christi , Texas
Welcome to a new world of fun!
1 - lock the door. Having it blow open on the road is not fun.
2 - awnings get damaged in high wind, and collateral damage to the trailer is bad. Take them down if you think it can get bad.
3- constantly check for leaks. Fix as soon as you find it.

Sounds like you bought a beautiful trailer and the perfect size, although opinions do vary. :-) oh...it is a forum rule to post lots of pics! (-: