Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2015, 08:51 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Roaring Fork Valley , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 14
Plugging in to a house

So I am living in my airstream...I'm currently living in an RV park but I have an opportunity to park on a friend's property. She's willing to let me hook into her house. So sewer and water are easy...but what about electric?? Any thoughts or experiences with this? Constantly tripping breakers?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
gcasson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:07 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
Cochese's Avatar
 
1965 26' Overlander
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 352
You need 30 amp if you plan on using an elec heater or a/c; 20 amp will not support a/c ( it will support one 1500 watt heater).


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Cochese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:10 PM   #3
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,762
Images: 5
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

As to your question, you would be best to install a dedicated 30 amp RV outlet at the house. You can try working off of 15 and 20 amp household outlets, but will most likely encounter electrical problems.

I would suggest having a licensed electrician do the 30 amp installation. It will probably cost in the vicinity of $500.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:10 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
Cochese's Avatar
 
1965 26' Overlander
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 352
Btw, if you have an electrician friend, you might be able to get them to add a 30 amp rv outlet pretty reasonable , it shouldn't cost too much regardless .


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Cochese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:38 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,268
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Hi, we spent several weeks in a friend's driveway and it worked good for us. Sewer was quite a distance but I made it work. Water was no problem. And we had a 20 amp outlet that only tripped when using our air conditioner and the micro-wave at the same time. [re-set the breaker and all is well]
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:43 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Msmoto's Avatar

 
2015 30' International
2009 27' FB International
2007 25' Safari
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,502
Images: 135
For sure, a dedicated 30 Amp, or if you have a desire for lots of electricity usage simultaneously i.e., hair dryer, A/C, microwave, etc. a 50 Amp might be good if you have an AS with 50 Amp input (two A/C units.)

But, they all cost money...
__________________
Happy trails and Good Luck
Ms Tommie Fantine Lauer, Greensboro, NC
AIR #31871 WBAC #4165 K4MTL

www.fantinesvoice.com
Msmoto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:45 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
withidl's Avatar
 
2002 31' Classic
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 440
Images: 1
I keep my 31' 2002 ASCL parked in my back yard hooked up to a 20 amp receptacle. This is done by using an adapter which is a dual male into the 20 amp female receptacle with a 30 amp female on the opposite side (adapter can be sourced from most RV suppliers). This adapter allows for 2 times the contact area of the male/female contacts which reduces resistance and thus heat.

The wiring I use is a #2 gauge copper of which I happened to have 150 feet laying around. I used it all instead of shortening it, but because of its thickness (~ the diameter of your little finger) there is essentially no voltage drop to the 30 amp umbilical of the Airstream.

With this set up I have no trouble running the air conditioner and the converter. While running, my voltage never drops below 119 volts and the connections stay cool.

Bottom line is use a large surface area adapter connector at the receptacle and a very large cable and you will have all 20 amps and good voltage available. It's probably cheaper than the electrician.
__________________
withidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:46 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
 
1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,960
Images: 78
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
I hate reiterate on the power source....what looks like a 30 amp service in the house IS NOT> That is a 22v outlet probable used for an electric drier. DON'T try it. A 30 AMP RV outlet is a different animal.
__________________
"If it can't be reduced, reused, repaired, rebuilt, refurbished, refinished, resold, recycled or composted
then it should be restricted, redesigned or removed from production."
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:48 PM   #9
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,320
The parts are cheap, but the knowledge to do it right is what you pay for.

Note: if you hire an electrician be very clear its a 30 amp 115 volt single phase connection. Others on the forum have had major issues when an RV 30 amp outlet was hooked to 220 volt incorrectly. Beware of electricians unfamiliar with what you need.

Me, I know what I'm doing and did it myself...just be careful.


Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums
__________________
KE4GNK/AE
'The Silver HamShack' (2007 International 22FB CCD 75th Aniversary model)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch
2012 shortbed crewcab 4x4 Toyota Taco TV with more antennae on it
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:50 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,441
Bought this outlet box at home improvement store:

Shop Eaton 30-Amp Overhead or Underground Temporary Power Panel at Lowes.com

Neighbor's friend's son is an electrician; paid him $75 to install it on a Saturday. He had conduit and wires, but I had to buy a 30 amp breaker, which I think was about $15.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

1. Make sure electrician knows that THE RV OUTLET IS 110 VOLTS, NOT 220 VOLTS.

2. BEFORE YOU PLUG YOUR AIRSTREAM'S SHORE POWER CORD INTO THE NEW OUTLET, make sure to have the electrician test the newly installed 110 volt 30 amp RV outlet with a voltmeter and a 110 volt outlet tester.

Can you guess? Yes, ours was wired wrong.

110 volt outlet tester: GE 3 Prong Receptacle Tester - Walmart.com
__________________
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:58 PM   #11
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,931
Images: 2
For temporary, it depends on your friend's home's setup. The 'best' solution is a 'dedicated' line. It will provide the safest, most usable setup.

I installed my own 50 AMP outlet... it is handy because I can also use it to power my welding machine now... isn't that great!!!???? Ok, I thought it was kewl...

Anyway, in most areas it is now necessary to have a LICENSED ELECTRICIAN install the circuit... In some areas, you may also have to pay for a government official to "oversee" that it is installed properly... isn't that NICE...

That-a-way you will be able to have any issues with the circuit 'covered' by the homeowner insurance in case of an 'issue'.... better play the game....er, protect your friend.

Now, presuming your AS is a 30 AMP, the same holds true. Get it done properly.

If, however, all the above doesn't fit, all you 'need' is enough power to keep your Converter powered... and enough propane to keep you warm... don't expect to run a space heater with a 10 amp.. and perhaps even a 15 amp circuit... "can" you.. perhaps, depending upon many factors... but, why risk your friend's courtesy or damage to anyone's property.. even 'accidental', of course...

Good luck!
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 10:01 PM   #12
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,931
Images: 2
Oh.. a separate note.. take action to ensure your cord is protected from rain, damage, etc..
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 06:47 AM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
Roaring Fork Valley , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 14
Thanks so much for all the responses!! I was hoping to not have to install a dedicated 30 amp breaker...and it sounds like it's at least worth a try to run it off the 20 amp system first.

Thanks once again for the help!
Gavin
__________________
gcasson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 06:56 AM   #14
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERTSUNRUS View Post
Hi, we spent several weeks in a friend's driveway and it worked good for us. Sewer was quite a distance but I made it work. Water was no problem. And we had a 20 amp outlet that only tripped when using our air conditioner and the micro-wave at the same time. [re-set the breaker and all is well]
^
X2

Been my experience also.

Bob
__________________

__________________
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging in At Home henw Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 65 11-30-2015 11:28 AM
20 Amp GFI breaker blows when plugging in New IOTA Converter Tartimisi Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 05-03-2013 04:07 PM
Plugging holes on the A frame Tino643 General Repair Forum 2 04-10-2013 08:37 PM
Blowing Fuses When Plugging Into Shore Power 1hank1 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 04-24-2012 09:29 PM
Lights quit working after plugging cell phone charger into cigarette lighter hagnik Lights - Interior & Exterior 6 06-20-2011 10:57 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.