Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2015, 07:11 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,406
Images: 5
I ran my 30 amp service myself....about $100 in pieces and parts and about 2 hours.
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:06 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,269
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcasson View Post
So I am living in my airstream...I'm currently living in an RV park but I have an opportunity to park on a friend's property. She's willing to let me hook into her house. So sewer and water are easy...but what about electric?? Any thoughts or experiences with this? Constantly tripping breakers?

Thanks!
Hi, I think we all agree that an RV 30 amp outlet would be the best, but I wouldn't have it done to a friend's house unless it was a long term situation and/or the home owner wanted to do it anyway. Do it to my own house; That's a complete different story. A 20 amp service worked fine for me.
__________________

__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 02:28 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
paiceman's Avatar

 
2017 30' Classic
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,433
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmkrum View Post
The parts are cheap, but the knowledge to do it right is what you pay for.

Note: if you hire an electrician be very clear its a 30 amp 115 volt single phase connection. Others on the forum have had major issues when an RV 30 amp outlet was hooked to 220 volt incorrectly. Beware of electricians unfamiliar with what you need.

Me, I know what I'm doing and did it myself...just be careful.


Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums

I can attest to this post. I had an RV plug wired by a licensed electrician in our garage. Specifically in the quote 30AMP 110V. He wired it 220V. I plugged in the AS after he left, it was not there when he did it and a loud pop, tons of smoke and $1,500 later a new converter and new blue ray player installed at the electricians expense plus my travel expenses to the AS dealer. AND the electrician said he knew exactly what he was doing as he had just finished a campground, however, he had done all the boxes not the panel as another electrician from the same company did the panel.

It's well worth it, even now that we have a 50AMP As, I just use and 30AMP adapter and plug her in. Can test each AC one at a time, etc.

Bud
__________________
SAFE TRAVELS
2017 30' Classic - F350 6.7 Diesel Crew
USAF - Military Training Instructor (TI) - 68-72
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 04:17 PM   #18
New Member
 
Cedar Rapids , Iowa
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Smile Plugging into house

We added an RV outlet in our garage so that a long cord will reach from the RV in our driveway...no more blown fuses!
__________________
jewels636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 04:21 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cochese View Post
You need 30 amp if you plan on using an elec heater or a/c; 20 amp will not support a/c ( it will support one 1500 watt heater).


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
My ac will run on a 20 amp circuit. Make sure there is nothing else running in the trailer other than the converter and that there is nothing in the house running off that circuit.
__________________
handn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 04:56 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,046
Images: 11
Plugging in to a house

My a/c will run on a twenty amp circuit all day long.

A/C and a hair dryer at the same time? That would be no.

With a little common sense, and a good supply cord, a twenty amp circuit will suffice.

Worst case, the breaker trips.


1/2 Ton 4WD Truck, 72 Sovereign Hensley Arrow
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 06:29 PM   #21
Rivet Master
 
tjdonahoe's Avatar
 
2013 31' Classic
billings , Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,843
I would try it before I did anything,one thing about it you might be able to stay in the house if it gets too cold!!!
__________________
tjdonahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 10:28 PM   #22
3 Rivet Member
 
Rolland's Avatar
 
1967 30' Sovereign
Chiefland , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 140
You can make or have made a adapter to plug into and "Y" off of a existing 220 v outlet either 30 or 50 amp. (Dryer, stove, or A/C) You will draw off of one leg and have 110v. It is how I plug into a variety of places, including my shop to keep the batteries charged or to use as a guest room. This will allow you to make no changes in the house wiring and take the adaptor with you when you leave. Those of us who travel a lot carry many adapters. The only expense is the cost of a variety of plugs, receptacles, and power cable. Good luck. Rolland


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Rolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 11:43 PM   #23
Rivet Master
 
Arcticfox's Avatar

 
2013 28' Flying Cloud
Central , Saskatchewan
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,026
Rolland would it be possible to articulate this "Y" idea a bit more. I have a 220 plug for my welder in my shop and was in the process of trying to find an electrician who could come to wire me in a plug for the trailer. Now with your comments, I'm wondering if I have to
Where could one get one of these "Y" plugs?

Thanks

Doug


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Trying to use my camera to create memories - not photographs!
Arcticfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 01:19 AM   #24
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,320
Be careful here. 220 volt outlets usually have the two hot legs, and a single safety earth. No neutral. The correct 30 amp trailer plug has a 115 volt hot lead, a neutral, and a safety earth (ground). It's NOT a good idea to use a 220 outlet with only one ground to power an AS. The neutral and safety earth are separate for a good reason-- the safety earth (green ground in US) is there to keep the trailer frame and body safely grounded. It's also an electrical code thing.

Tying trailer neutral and safety earth anywhere besides the house electrical panel (with its ground rod to earth) is a good way to get killed if something goes wrong.

Please do it right, per the NEC (US) or Canada code, or don't do it at all. Your life is not worth the "easy" jury-rigged power outlet connection.

I've worked with power systems all my life, and I can tell you the easiest way to get hurt is fooling with 'big standard' 115 volt circuits. One darn near got me when I had a 480 volt 3-phase monster tagged out. The 115 volt pilot circuit damn near got me.

Be safe, be double careful, and if it isn't to code, you should not and must not do it that way. Life is precious.

And electrical cooking is a bad way to die. 'Nuff said.


Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums
__________________
KE4GNK/AE
'The Silver HamShack' (2007 International 22FB CCD 75th Aniversary model)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch
2012 shortbed crewcab 4x4 Toyota Taco TV with more antennae on it
rmkrum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 06:23 AM   #25
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,115
Images: 4
"So sewer and water are easy."

Are you staying in Colorado????????? The water will freeze before it gets to your trailer
__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:14 AM   #26
1 Rivet Member
 
Roaring Fork Valley , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 14
Thanks again everyone! this is by far the most useful forum I've been a part of!

Mandolindave,
Yes I live in Colorado. Right in the heart of the Roaring Fork Valley north of Aspen! The only problem I've had with frozen lines has been when I wasn't there for a few days. I have a heated water hose that works surprisingly well! I don't even have it wrapped in insulation or anything...I'd highly recommend one for winter use!
__________________
gcasson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:28 AM   #27
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
All 240 volt outlets that I am aware of, are wired with a neutral and 2 hot legs as well as a ground. Some (3 prong old work) have the neutral and ground on one lug. The newer outlets are 4 wire. The neutral and ground are on separate prongs.
Your system should be wired to the latter. But only using one of the hot legs along with the neutral and a separate ground.
Your coach is wired for 120 volts. NOT 240.
BE SURE WHOM EVER WIRES THE OUTLET UNDERSTANDS THIS!!!!!
There are specific receptacles for RV service. They are clearly marked and identify where the hot leg and neutral connect.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 09:15 AM   #28
BAB
Rivet Master
 
BAB's Avatar

 
2015 30' Classic
2012 28' International
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,574
I ran two separate 50amp panels for my trailer. First one is next to the parking shed (also have water and sewer here). Second panel is in my driveway. I "stage" departures from the driveway and like to park there for a day before a trip as it's closer and easier to load/unload. Will admit that it was a project to wire these two boxes, but once they are done, they are done! Oh, the driveway panel includes separate plug-ins for 50/30/20 amp. Nice if I have company and they only need 30.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1908.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	374.2 KB
ID:	230470   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1909.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	339.3 KB
ID:	230471  

__________________

__________________
_________________
"SilverLeaf II" 2015 30' Classic
2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 CC w/6.7L Cummins
ProPride 3P
AIR# 58452
WBCCI # 3430-Unit 21
BAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging in At Home henw Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 65 11-30-2015 11:28 AM
20 Amp GFI breaker blows when plugging in New IOTA Converter Tartimisi Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 05-03-2013 04:07 PM
Plugging holes on the A frame Tino643 General Repair Forum 2 04-10-2013 08:37 PM
Blowing Fuses When Plugging Into Shore Power 1hank1 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 04-24-2012 09:29 PM
Lights quit working after plugging cell phone charger into cigarette lighter hagnik Lights - Interior & Exterior 6 06-20-2011 10:57 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.