Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-02-2019, 10:21 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

San Diego , California
A year in a 2020 Caravel 16

Hey everyone, new member here!

I'm a remote working software dev who can effectively live anywhere and am thinking about doing a year on the road in the new Caravel 16.

Reason why I'm thinking about this one in particular is

- I plan to frequently be on the move (at most stay in one spot 2 weeks or so, but probably mostly be moving every 3-5 days). So something that is easier to manuever, can fit in more places, and allows me to use a smaller tow vehicle is ideal
- I love the amount of window on both ends - because the interior is so compact w/ so much window, I feel like it would give me a better sense of being integrated w/ the outdoors.
- I need minimal accomodations regarding kitchen, bath, and storage. I'm only 5'5" 130lbs and will be solo

I'll probably be at places w/ hookups in cities or towns about 2/3 of the time, campsites the other times. While parked in a city, intend to spend my days in town (usually working out of cafes) and evenings checking out local music acts and meet people.

Part of the reason for doing this is I spent my entire life in southern California and want to see the rest of the country.

With all that said... am I crazy for thinking this is reasonable? Also any gotchas for the new Caravels to watch out for?