Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-12-2003, 07:28 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Winterizing in Alberta

Hi I am a new owner of a 71 safari 23foot. It came without manuals and I am new to owning an RV of any sort. I need to know how to winterize my rig for the winter. Our winters here are very cold -40 C and they are dry. Winterizing tips for my climate would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Randy
altastars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:01 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1993 30' Excella
whitewater , north of cheddar curtain
shame...shame..shame...

hello randy,
i think its absolutely despicable that you didnt get a manual. ..as for winterizing...drain your water heater..install a bypass..you can get at camping world or rv supply...drain tanks open faucets...also a plug you can get to mount on outside supply..has hole in it to which you can inject compressed air to blow out lines...some people then pump rv anti freeze in lines... i guess you would especially need it and add anti freeze to drains..if you have a water filter you could pull that also.....if i missed something im shure some one else will add on to the thread....or.... you could become a snow bird and in which case this would all become irelevent ....good luck..
norby
p.s.you can probably get a manual search the airstream page for a link...

The only true nobility is found through giving good food to your friends- Anton Careme

beauty is in the eye of the beerholder-cosmo fishhawk

if something is too good to be true, its usually gone before i get there-mister boffo
norbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:42 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1959 22' Caravanner
Atlanta , Georgia