Old 10-15-2010, 10:40 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2010 28' International
HiGhlands Ranch , Rockies
Winterizing Help

I am a newbie and I need some help. Can you tell me how to pump in the RV antifreeze. I have seen several different posts, but no clear direction on how it is done. I am assuming that I need to go the RV store to get a pump?

Also, does anyone have a picture of what a Camco water heater bypass looks like. Are they easy to install. Does anyone have a link to instructions on how to install a HW heater bypass?

Finally, do I need to pump in enough antifreeze so that it comes out the faucets even if I blow out the lines with air compressor?

Thank you very much for the help!

Old 10-16-2010, 02:51 AM   #2
x

XXXX , XXXX
Coloradoair your trailer already has a water pump. Use the water pump to pump in the antifreeze. Your trailer may already have a hose connected to the water pump which is inserted into the bottle of antifreeze. If not disconnect the input line from the water pump and attach a long enough piece to put into the antifreeze jug.
1) drain the fresh water tank
2) drain the water heater.
3)drain and rinse all waste tanks(grey and black water)
4) install water heater bypass kit or if already installed close valves at input and output points to water heater. Open bypass valve allowing antifreeze to pass from the cold lines to the hot lines.
5) connect line to input of water pump and insert into antifreeze jug
6)turn on water pump. open one tap at a time until antifeeze flows out and close. continue to do this at each tap both hot and cold. (kitchen sink, bathroom sink,shower and toilet, if your toilet has the spray wand clear it as well.You may also have low point drain valves do these as well.
7) open each valve at input and output of water heater briefly to clear each valve of water.