Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2013, 02:02 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2013 23' International
Penfield , New York
Winter Battery Storage "How To"

Hi Experienced AS Owners!
This is my first year winterizing my new 23D Intl AS. I am wondering if someone could direct me to battery care for the winter months. I live in upstate NY where temps could drop down to -10 if we have a severe winter. I am assuming I must bring the two 12v batteries inside, but what about care? I have read about a battery Minder, but I do not understand its use.

Thanks in advance! I have one more trip planned to the Pinery Provincial Park this year, then the baby has to be put to bed for the winter....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0402.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	479.6 KB
ID:	195396  
DreamsInSlvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Branson , Missouri
I've talked with Interstate regarding this. I assume you've got two interstate batteries.

They say the batteries are good down below your stated temp at least (as I recall, they said down to -33), AS LONG AS THE BATTERIES ARE CHARGE ONCE A MONTH.

In other words hook your shore power up to the trailer once a month, for 24 hours and you should be good to go.

Good luck!

https://www.pbase.com/murreywalker

2011 23 FC FB
murreywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 04:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
If you store your trailer at home, all you have to do is plug it in once a month or so. If not, then you should bring them home, store them in the basement and charge them each month. This is what I have to do and while it is always a pain to remove them and then reinstall them in the spring it isn't really such a bad system. I monitor them monthly and so far things are fine.